Come and join our family and enjoy life in Northland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small block of land in the middle of the countryside. We have gardens, a workshop, outdoor bathtub, kiwi listening at night, a social household and spend a lot of time at the beach (but it's not close), or outdoors.

    We are looking for enthusiastic workers to help with house maintenance mostly and gardening.

    We are a family of four with two flatmates also in the house. Autumn works at the local school as the principal, the kids are 18, 16 and 9 yrs old (They are not always all home at the same time) and the two flatmates are wood workers/surfers.

    The food is excellent, the vibe is relaxed and fun and the evenings are often spent making things - art or woodworking or playing guitar. We all surf and will be taking off for the beach when there is a swell, you can come too!

    Couples are most welcome but our sleeping arrangements are two single beds in a small room, so if you have your own camper van that would work the best for a couple.

    We have been hosts on another volunteering platform for the last 10 years and have recently changed to this platform. We have many lovely reviews from helpers over the years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to make wooden spoons, surf, garden, soak in the fire bath under the stars or learn to cook. Spend a day at the primary school where I am the principal, spend time with children.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Building, gardening, mowing lawns, painting, tidying up yard. Often helping on your own during the day as we all work or go to school.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small room off the porch of the main house. Can fit two people. All food provided, cooked meal at night with the family and make your own during the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not have wifi. You need to use your own data for internet connection.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 963512596416