Come help me build a shed/tiny house in Středočeský kraj, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We started building a wooden tiny house in the back of the garden and need your help to finish it on time, I promise it is great fun and a good experience :)
    Hello fellow workawayers! My name is Niké, I am 21 years old and I am a workawayer returned home, after more than a year of travelling around the world, I now study abroad. I am going back home over the summer this year and would like to welcome workawayers to our traditional Czech "chata", a wooden country house with a large garden, for the second year in a row. That way, I can still take part in the travelling spirit by sharing the stories of those who will pass through my home. Having experienced the workawayers side, I reckon I know what it takes to make a good host and make your stay here as pleasant and memorable as possible. We started building an additional small wooden house in the back of the garden last year, and would love your help to complete it. It is a very fun project! Currently looking for mid July-mid August.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience life in a Czech village in the countryside, less than an hour away from Prague. Try some delicious traditional Czech dishes, alternated with healthy and vegetarian food. But don't worry, we are non-vegetarian friendly as well, in fact, I am the only vegetarian in the family, so you can enjoy sausages around the campfire almost every night if you wish to, as we eat dinner and play guitar around the fire with friends and neighbors whenever the weather allows it. I will happily teach you some Czech, and we will probably introduce you to the Czech "sport" of going mushroom picking as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Our main project this year is finishing the shed. The frame and roof is up, so we need to:
    -insert flooring
    -walls
    -install door and windows
    -paint
    If you have experience in this type of project you are especially welcome as we are mostly learning by doing :).
    Apart from that, help with other things like upkeeping the garden, cutting wood, general repairs on the main house, apple harvest or uncluttering might also come up occasionally.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers can choose to stay in the house. There is two bedrooms upstairs with a double bed and a small bed each, but depending on how many family members, friends or workawayers will be there any given week, you might need to share a room. If you have a tent, you are welcome to pitch it in the garden if you want more privacy or wish to stay when the house is full! The house is many decades old and built by my greatgrandparents, so please expect cosy, but very modest accomodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The chata is in a beautiful area, 2 minutes walking from a smaller lake perfect for a morning swim, as well as a stunning forest, and about 10 minutes from a larger lake. There is also lots of castles in the area to explore and Prague is not very far, just an hour away, so you can go there for a weekend trip. As my family is from Prague I can share many tips with you! If you're really lucky, someone coming or leaving might be even able to give you a lift.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Only when no family members with cars are currently present, and only if the campervan is not wider than a normal car. Parking on a shared road, so need to be considarate of neighbours.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours a week, how this is spread out can be arranged

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 963161756291