Come and help us with our young children in the outdoor exciting city of Cape Town, South Africa


South Africa

Favourited 58 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days


 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a family of four, with a pigeon pair of children aged two and two months living in a suburb of the colourful city of Cape Town. We are both enthusiastic family people and working professionals and need some help with childcare style help in the home and with getting our kids to creche and from granny and granddad who live nearby. Our home is very central to pretty much everything in Cape Town - from the bustling, social and arty centre of town to the mountain and beaches. We are outdoor enthusiasts and can recommend and invite you to many outdoor locations. We rock climb, run, mountain bike and occasionally brave the sea waters and have lots of toys for such adventures that the aspiring adventurer can use. Our home has amble space and the living area for a single, young, child-centred person is comfortable, large and private. I (mom) work at the University of Cape Town as a Neuropsychology lecturer so can provide guidance for prospective and current exchange students or just entertaining dinner time conversation. We are also music enthusiasts and my husband Duncan plays the piano and guitar and is recording an album. We are also involved in community development in various ways, so can connect you workaway-ers up with organisations that work in previously disadvantaged areas in Cape Town.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because we are people with diverse interests living in a multicultural setting we have a lot to offer in a wide range of experiences. First and foremost you'll gain childcare experience, working with babies and toddlers. Here you'll learn creative ways to engage young minds, patience and multi-tasking.

    Staying with us there is also lots of opportunity to learn or engage in a new or loved outdoor sport through our wide network of outdoor enthusiasts (we practice rock climbing, trail running and mountain biking mainly but are closely connected to surfers, paragliders, paddlers and kite surfers too). You'll have the opportunity to hike a variety of wonderful trials in Cape Town and surrounds.

    Because I am in neuropsychology and work at the university I am perfectly positioned to help inform prospective or current University of Cape Town students. Furthermore both my husband and I have worked in community settings in trauma counseling, education and outdoor experiential learning and can advise on how to get some community experience if that is something that is of interest.

  • Help


    We offer a space to a single person. We need support for approximately 5 hours per day during the week. In return we offer free accommodation, and meals five days a week. The help is centred on spending time and doing activities with our two little ones (currently aged 2.5 and 6 months) and driving them to their grandparents and creche, which are both within an 8km distance. The person must have an international drivers licence or must be able to acquire one to help with the driving (we will supply the car). Regarding working times, we need help in the morning while we prepare for work and at times to get the baby (Eva) to granny and gramps. Then you'll have the morning and lunchtime free until our toddler, Benji, needs to be picked up from creche and brought home around 2.30pm. There you'll play with the kids, do activities or take them out for an outing, returning by 5.30pm when we are home. Experience or great enthusiasm and a natural flair for young children will be a great advantage. We would love it if you got creative, silly, serious, exploratory with them; read books; sing songs and go on adventures. The needs of the baby will be taken care of by granny but it would be great if the helper could do some collective playtime with both children between 2.30 and 5.30pm. Furthermore, I am Polish by birth and speaking Polish would also be an advantage although certainly not a requirement.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish, Afrikaans

  • Accommodation


    We live in a big sunny house in the suburb of Pinelands in Cape Town. Pinelands is central to pretty much most places in Cape Town and close to all major highways. You will have your own suite with a private entrance, that has a bathroom, shower, kitchen and bedroom. The family washing machine is in this suite, so we will need to access it at respectful but regular times. You will be invited to share meals with us during the week - we love to cook and enjoy food and wine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cape Town is a fabulous city! Because it is built around a mountain but also along the coast, nature experiences are entwined with city life. It is also a cultural experience, with strong Xhosa and Cape Malay influences. The food is wonderful, people are generally friendly and there is great diversity in interesting places to see. During the week we will provide a car to transport the little people. On weekends you are free to borrow our scooter (provided you have a licence) or use our bicycles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 962452628974