Help us create a self-sufficient homestead with our home and animals on the isle of Samsø, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a large family with 3 big and 3 small children, building a self-sufficient homestead in the isle of Samsø. We want to build a life centred around our family and farm getting by with as small an income as possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer knowledge and experience in small scale farming and self-sufficiency, household and conservation of foods and insight in our way of building a homestead and family.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with many different tasks e.g. tidying up, cleaning the house, gardening, babysitting, painting, setting up fences.
    We have many different animals that need tending: Sheep, rabbits, chickens, ducks, geese, pigs, a milking cow, a cat and a dog. You will be able to participate in the work with the animals as part of your stay.
    Since we have a cow, we also make dairy products.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will be living in a nice camping trailer with heating and electricity. It has a queen-size bed and 3 bunks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Samsø is a relatively large island with many different landscapes. We have fine beaches, forests and great roads for discovering the island by bicycle. Ferry services are good and a trip to Copenhagen or Århus can easily be made.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 957941743914