Come and help us around the house and with dog-sitting on the Island of Curacao

Country

Curacao

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a private person, recently retired and want to visit my family in Europe more often now. I was born here in Curacao, lived.studied/worked in Holland and came back on the island 20 years ago.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An American movie actor said" wow, this is a REAL island, meaning: Curacao is not just sun, sea, sand, and no imitation of Miami as Aruba is. The island has a rich history and still many historic buildings. Papiamentu is the first language for maybe 80% of the inhabitants, and is one of the few "small" languages in the world that is growing in number of speakers. Furthermore most people speak Spanish and/or English and/or Dutch. Lots of beautiful Boca's here to relax, swim and dive. Nearby f.e. is an unspoiled fisherman's village Boca Sami (Boca Sint Michiel): jump in your car and be there within 15 minutes). Hiking possibilities. even modest (kite) surfing. Furthermore we have many things that you find in a "complete" country: university, airport, etc. Curacao is autonomous within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. There is a growing group of people that are environment-conscious, wanting to preserve and to create more eco-friendly ways of living (organic food; a special challenge is the climate).

  • Help

    Help

    Dog and house sitting during my (longer) vacations. My first trips of are arranged for now. My travels will continue in the upcoming years, mostly in April/May ande Sept/Oct.
    I live in an little old Curacao house, there is no luxury and things like a pool etc. but to me it is a good comfortable home.
    There are 2 not so big (11 kilo's) sweet dogs to take care of,.they take 2 meal a day: one at beginning of the day (7 AM) and one at the beginnng of the evening (around 6.30 PM). They are 4,5 years young and have the garden (1000 m2) to exercise. Most of the time you have very little work with them.
    They are survivors: were found and taken to an animal shelter and then I adopted them. t is more about your presence than working hard. Excellent place for e-working.
    It is very little "work" for 1 person, so that is why i am not looking for couples (as utilities are quite expensive over here).
    It could well be that during my absence some other persons are staying in one of the 2 studio's. I manage their stay from a distance through the internet. It should not require any work from the work awayer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, Papiamentu, English, little German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    my simple but comfortable one bedroom "antique" house with walls of sand and stones, almost 40 cm thick which helps against the heat. Wind blows through the house, (it is mostly there). The bedroom has a.c. Modest use of electricity and water is provided for however excess has to be paid. (meter) There are 2 studio's in the back of the garden which i rent sometimes, to f.e. medical tourists that come for tests or checkups to our hospital, or people that have come to stay and have to find their own home yet.
    Excellent opportunity for e-workers/digital nomads.
    Local neighborhood (very quiet during the day, dogs barking at night, and some music), located in the center of the island. City is 15 minutes by car, beach also. There is some public transport but not abundant, so it could take time to get somewhere. Depends. Car is recommended. helpful. (student rentals are o.k., sometimes people buy a car and sell it when they leave) Gated garden, wifi. Could offer contacts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Could introduce you to experts on flora, fauna, geology, diving (knowledge of the reefs) etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 7 days a week

Host ref number: 957185872729