We welcome volunteers who would like to live on an ecological farm. Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are in Sakarya which is 200 km far from Istanbul. We bought this land 4 years ago and we built a house with a kitchen, bath and a toilet inside for the volunteers also another house for us . Also an outdoor kitchen with two stone oven, dry (compost ) toilet and an outdoor bath also. This year we finished our multi functional platform for doing yoga, dance, and some activities. Me and my wife worked so hard. My wife is a physics teacher and I'm a doctor. Nearly ten years ago my wife was intrested in ecology and she started doing the physics projects related with ecology. Few years later she quited and continue to search ecology and permanent calture more. After a few years she bought this land and started to built an ecological farm . Two years later I came to help her with a friend. Then we loved each other and get married in a few months. After I came I started doing all the stuff. I worked as a high qualified carpenter, an installer, a builder. So we shared the work. I'm working on building stuff and she is working in the garden. From now on we will stay half of the year in Turkey from April to the end of the December and from December to April in Chaing Mai city in Thailand.
    We sometimes do activities for adults or some students such as making compost, compost toilet, making natural creams and soaps, how to grow vegetables and take seeds from them, making soil better, making vinegar, cheese etc.
    Our land is surrounded by the forest and it's very silent. We are living in the village named Kadı Köyü. Our land is 8000 m2 and we have so many small fruit trees. As the trees are baby now we have to take care of them so carefully. We plant also so many kinds of veggies. If you are vegeterian or vegan you can also prepare your own food or we can do it together. We make our own yogurt and cheese at the farm. We have a sustainable life there as the city centre is far from there. In the village there are no shops or markets. We have a car in any case something happens. We are 7 km far from the hospital. We have a wooden house with very comfortable beds for the volunteers. We usally work 5 hours a day. We do yoga at the morning and start work after breakfast at 9.00 am to 12.00 and from 2.00 to 5.00 pm in the afternoon.

    Sharing is careing. We want to share all of our experinces with you and learn from you for a better world. Create not waste.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn Thai and Turkish calture and foods also learn about the details of gardening, seed saving, making vinegar and pickle, composting and natural building.

    Sometimes we go hiking because we have so many beautiful routes in the forest. Also there is a very ancient castle nearby that has a very good view named 'Paşalar Kalesi'.

  • Help

    Help

    A little bit experienced about building or gardening. We need help in the garden and natural building and composting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Turkish and Thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a wooden house that have double beds and single beds inside. Also we have tents with beds inside.

    We have double beds and single beds. We have drinks and a fridge always full with veggies and fruits etc. free for our volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go on hiking to the castle 2 km far from us. You can visit the straw house that we made with an ecological society named 'Yeryüzü Derneği'. 6 km far from our village there is a local fish restaurants in a very cool place in the forest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 954694344345