Come and help on a little farm in the mountains in Málaga, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    On a little farm in the mountains in Andalucía, close to Málaga, I live with two horses, a dog and a cat in a small cortijo. One and a half year ago we started to convert the site into a permaculture farm. Now we're in the designing process but started already with some small changes and experiments.


    - We just started to do worm composting with the horse manure on two different sites, one still under construction.
    Goal is to go fully sustainable with the least possible input from outside and least loss of water and nutrients.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak German, Spanish and English. If you like to improove one of these, we are happy to speak each language with you. You will learn permaculture design and its implementation with our permaculture consultant, getting in touch with horses guided of an expert and getting in touch with the
    theory and praxis of healthy nutrition and get to know other medical / acupuncture / tcm ideas.

  • Help

    Help

    We're starting with a new permaculture project.
    We implemented already a worm farm to compost the horse manure.
    You will help us to maintain it.
    We created the water retention landscape and we will plant trees and bushes to prevent erosion, wind and loss of rain water as well as provide food and natural activity for the horses. A food forest will follow, which includes constructing natural little stone walls to get there.
    We started a small vegetable garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    42m2 big studio with dry toilet, shower, washing machine and little kitchen and a separate little sleeping room.
    We will provide you food and volunteers can cook for themselves but the cooking task usually is shared and lunch and/or dinner enjoyed together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is about 30 min walking distance to the next village Alfanatejo.
    There's a bus stop to Málaga city, restaurants with good prices and good tappas, paddle court (spanish tennis) and a swimming pool.
    The farm is surrounded by mountains and ideal for hiking, bird viewing, horse riding and cycling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)










Host ref number: 951919689614