Help with childcare, housework and gardening with eco-conscious family two minutes from the beach in Cape Town, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 151 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with two children 6 and 3 years old. We have lived around the world- mamma Elin is from Sweden and Papa Sam is of English, French and South African heritage. Sam grew up in Africa, Asia and the UK and Elin studied in the UK and lived and worked extensively in South America before meeting Sam. As a family we lived and worked 6 years in rural Kenya. Both Elin and Sam work within the area of environmental sustainability/ climate change resilience. Sam works from Cape Town with projects around Africa and Elin works both locally and internationally, mostly in Africa. Our life philosophy is very much based on permaculture and we are trying to set ourselves up to be as sustainable as possible in our little village house. We love being in nature and often go on hikes or go snorkelling, surfing or body boarding in the beautiful sea. We go camping as much as we can. We also love music and art and have a great community of creatives around us. Elin is also a yoga teacher and teaches at a nearby studio.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a southern suburb of the beautiful Cape Town, about half an hour drive from the centre of town. Our house is located in the cute Muizenberg village, a two minutes walk to one of the longest beaches in South Africa, which also happens to be the best beach to learn how to surf and fifteen minutes walk to the mountain which hosts some very beautiful hikes with endless sea views. There are numerous national parks nearby to be explored as well as interesting cultural places to visit. Muizenberg is a young and happening place and there are plenty of interesting classes and offerings, from learning Xhosa to dance, yoga, capoeira and numerous art classes. As a family we are very environmentally conscious and we are setting up our little village house to be as sustainable as possible with rainwater harvesting system, food gardens and composting system. Elin, who works with permaculture and climate change resilience, is also well connected to local NGO's working around environmental sustainability as well as those working on health issues and youth empowerment. As mentioned above we are keen to have a language exchange too so visitors could learn English and we could improve our language skills. Elin is also a yoga teacher, teaching once a week at a local studio and is happy to offer free yoga classes to work-aways.

  • Help

    Help

    We are working parents who also often work internationally and need help with child care like picking and dropping kids at school and taking kids to swim lessons as well as shopping and some small housework and gardening if you are keen. We also need help babysitting sometimes in the evenings. Our children are bilingual though their English is definitely stronger than their Swedish. We would love to have a Swede who could help improve our children's Swedish skills and in exchange could learn better English, but we are also open to other nationalities and languages we would love our children to learn such as French, Spanish, Italian or Portuguese. Elin speaks fluent Spanish and decent French and Portuguese and Sam speaks decent Italian. We would need someone with a valid drivers licence and who is an experienced driver as driving is essential part of life here and we would need help at times to drive kids to and from school.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would be in the guest room of our house. You would have your own room with a double bed and access to a shared bathroom. There is access to wifi in the house. When living with us you would be part of our family and share food and meal times with us. We eat everything but we try and source as organically and sustainably as we can. We are a non smoking house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to explore in Cape Town, whether you're interested in learning to surf, hike, do social work or art or music- there is something here for everyone. We have friends who run surf schools who offer lessons for beginners and can also offer links to local NGO's and cool community initiatives doing good things. Elin also teaches yoga and is happy to offer free yoga classes to work-aways.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 949943231867