Help with gardening and natural building in a big family home in Kulmbach, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/07/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear workawayer! Thanks for your interest in our place. Please read the profile to the end, I tried to tell what probably
    could be important for you.
    We are a family of seven ( Hans 91, Christian 46, Evelyn 43, Vincent 20, Elias 16, Samuel 14 and Lovis 11 )
    With dog and cat and (meat) rabbits we live in a small village in northern Bavaria. Our house is a strawbalehouse and not finished yet ( if it ever will be !)
    A small veggi and berry garden is to be formed.
    We have here Steinerschool and kindergarden, some farms ( mostly biodynamic) an organic shop, a tiny theatre, a café and a castle. The beautiful landscape is characterized by hills, meadows and woods.
    The next trainstation is 4km away and the next town is Kulmbach 7km.
    Christian is a builder and works mostly with clay and wood.
    Hans is a painter. He lives in his own appartment but we often eat together.
    I am a bit handicapped, because of Narkolepsy, what means I need more sleep than other people do, I dont drive and I have problems using ladders and machines. My favorite place is the garden, I like photography and I am interested in reenactment and traditional crafts.
    I bake good bread and pizza.
    The kids are normal kids / teens and can be challenging sometimes. Samuel is a diabetic and needs a bit more care and support.
    Vincent is studying at University and only here in holidays.
    We dont have a TV ( Hans does though) and we dont use smartphones in the house all the time. WIFI is mostly turned off. But we use computer and internet. There is LAN in nearly every room for free use.
    We have dog and cat in the house.
    Our meals are mostly vegetarian but we eat some meat. Milk, eggs and vegetables come fresh from the neighbours.
    We have a piano and guitar for musicians.

    In the moment is help with the garden as well as help in the house the priority. The dog is very happy about every walk or play.
    Some claywork is to be done indoors and outdoors. Helping the kids with there projects (esp Samuel has so many ideas) The youngest, is homeschooled and if you can help her with her learning- great!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you about building with natural materials, baking bread, gardening.
    If you like to learn about organic farming, we both studied organic agriculture and there is always the possibility to help and learn at our friends and neighbours farms ( mostly demeter). For people with interest in education our school (Steiner school) is interested in helpers too.
    We can also help you learning german .
    We enjoy having guest .

  • Help

    Help

    RIGHT NOW I am looking for help with digging out for a earth-green-house. It is hard and bit boring work, and you should be able to use wheelbarrow and shovel. It is still mild outside and good for walking or sightseeing.

    We are also looking for responsible, very good english ( or french plus a bit english or german) speaking persons ( we'd love to host kids ) who feel comfortable with teenage boys and can excist a few hours without the smartphone. We can offer free internet access and there are LAN connection in most of the rooms.
    Part of the help will be spending time with the kids , playing basketball, walking the dog, campfire, go on a camping trip , help with homework or creativ projects...and talking english. They all have english and russian lessons at school but with no good result.

    Some help with photo and video editing or artwork is welcome too.
    If you are good with dogs- perfect. Our poodle Pelle is three years old and happy to have somebody for playing football or walks in the field.
    Our garden needs maintanance and I can always use a hand in the house.
    If you are interested in natural building technics, we can tell you a lot. Special projects can be clay-oven and greenhouse construction and a new rabbit house.
    All people with woodworking abilities and all with other handy skills are required. We still lack in doors and cabinets and outdoor-constructions.
    We would definitely enjoy having our menu jazzed up, you are very welcome to cook. we love to eat.
    I am not alowed to drive and Hans is not driving longer ways any more, but we have bicycles, bus and train .
    I think of having a little english summercamp for children here in late August and September. If you have experience in leading groups and good ideas you are very welcome to help with it.
    I do not like to count working hours, or instruct every step, so to be a bit self-organized would be helpful.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Lithuanian: Intermediate
    Russian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can have your own room at the house, but you can also pitch a tent if you like.
    We can manage vegetarian meals.
    We are strictly non-smokers .
    We have no TV but free internet.
    The house is at least partly a construction place and not very tidy. Still hundreds of boxes.
    There is a lack of good closing doors, and building stuff and tools are still in the house.
    Dog and a siamese cat are in the house.
    PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO DUST OR ANIMALS than DONT come to that place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We dont have a own car to drive you around but you can have a bike or use the public transport just like we do.
    There are two places for swimming within 4km. In winter when there is snow ( not often) we have a good place for sled riding. Good area for biking and walking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 944982769663