Come help us establish our Ayurvedic rainforest retreat near Bellingen, Australia!!

  • Australia
  • Favourited 99 times
  • Last activity: 13 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a family of 5 - Amy (39), Steve (41), Peppa (13), Lilly (8) & Max (5) (And sunny The dog!) living on the upper Bellinger River in the Thora Valley, 40 Mins from Bellingen.

    Our property is 100 acres of subtropical rainforest and wet sclerophyll forest, mixed fruit orchard, with beautiful fresh water swimming holes, creeks and abundant wildlife and nature to enjoy & explore.

    Amy is an Ayurvedic Practitioner and we are in the process of establishing a small Ayurvedic Retreat.

    Internet is available, but we have no mobile reception.

    Laundry Facilities are available.

    Pick up/Drop off from Bellingen can be arranged.

    Families are welcome.

    We look forward to sharing some time with you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy to live in this beautiful native environment, there is so much to see, explore and learn! We speak fluent English and a little bit of Spanish and are happy to help visitors improve language, learn skills in native bush regeneration, permaculture, Ayurveda, cooking, gardening and enjoying life! Bellingen is also the cultural hub of the region with lots of live music, festivals, art food and culture. It is a special community to experience!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for help with construction projects, establishing organic vegetable gardens, native bush regeneration, planting trees, cooking and general property and house maintenance.

    Building, carpentry, gardening & cooking skills are particularly welcome, however specific skills are not required as there is always lots to do and learn!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Always keen to learn new languages and cultures, especially for the kids to learn and share different culture and experiences.

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is a very comfortable room overlooking the river, with queen size bed & private ensuite bathroom.

    Camping is also available for those who enjoy the outdoors!

    We are vegetarian, love to cook healthy, organic food and can provide you with delicious vegetarian meals during your stay here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is surrounded by beautiful nature walks, fresh water swimming holes, creeks & the Bellinger River to explore! Dorrigo National Park is 40mins away which makes for a wonderful day trip, or you can venture to the coast to enjoy the magical beaches. It’s best if you have your own veichle, but if not we love an adventure and can happily organise some fun trips!

    The local town of Bellingen is home to many great cafes, bars, restaurants and shops, and has a great local community vibe.

    We enjoy to live a simple, clean lifestyle with lots of positive energy and good times and welcome our guests to enjoy our space with this understanding in mind.

    We are a non smoking household.

    We look forward to meeting you and sharing some time together!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi is available with private space for working available if required.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have nice areas with running water for caravan, camper van and tent setups. Currently no external toilet facility is available but an outside composting toilet and shower area is on our list of things to do! Come help us build one!!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved Small - medium size 'Outside dogs' are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 944556956523

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

You can help us on our 8000 acre Organic farm, come exchange knowledge and gain a lot of hands on experience and have fun in Central Queensland, Australia
Help look after the animals, house and garden near the Grampians in Western Victoria, Australia