Help develop a beautiful ferrocement house and gardens near Nimbin, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    680

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Mattias and Faith, a Flemish / Aussie couple with two little girls, recently returned from five years living and traveling overseas. We've recently purchased a 5 acre share on a lovely, friendly community half way between Nimbin and Lismore and are looking for people who would like to come and help us develop the property and build our home.

    Matt has worked his whole life in the construction industry and is skilled in many areas including plumbing and carpentry. He has experience working with natural building techniques including earthships, composting toilets, earth bags and cob. He speaks Dutch, French and English. Faith has many years experience teaching and living in communities, most recently the Wilderland community in New Zealand where she managed the education program and gardens.

    The property has a wide range of sub-tropical fruit trees, natives and ornamentals and terraces have been developed to improve drainage and for passive irrigation. The soil is lush and plants grow prolifically. Wallabies, birds and many other forms of wildlife also make this land their home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We ask that you contribute ten hours per week to the project but when you work those hours is negotiable. While you work you will be learning valuable skills. The rest of your time you will have off to relax, work on your own projects or explore the surrounding area. We are only about half an hours drive from beautiful swimming holes, waterfalls, cafes and local markets. We are 25 mins from Lismore, a large town with all amenities, and just half an hour from Nimbin. The beaches of Byron Bay are about an hour away.

  • Help

    Help

    Work is varied and may include:

    Bush regeneration
    Assisting with the build of a new ferro-cement outdoor kitchen and bathroom
    Propagating and planting many different types of plants
    Mulching and fertilising fruit trees
    Mowing and brush-cutting
    Helping take care of Freya and little Aurora (if you have experience)
    Constructing a chicken house, vegetable garden and other small projects

    Ultimately we would like to develop vegetable gardens, raise chickens, revegetate the creek and under-plant the fruit trees with productive under-story, but for now we are focused on the build of the outdoor kitchen, as well as maintaining the orchards and existing gardens. We will also be doing a fair bit of tree planting early in the season.

    At the moment we have dragon fruit and many citrus fruits ripening, as well as lots of organically grown greens and culinary herbs that you are welcome to share. We have a large greenhouse and love growing!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our girls are currently learning French so would love french speakers to spend time with them. We can share English, French and Flemish (Dutch).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a large, fully equiped camp with a large two-room tent and awning, sink, stove, tables and chairs, esky, camping gear and cooking equipment, a double bed, simple solar lighting and good internet access. There is room to settle in and spread out. We also have all the necessities including hot shower, washing machine and unlimited fast wifi. The bathroom is shared at present, but you have your own access at the back of the house.

    It is also possible to park a van on the property and camp in your own style.

    We provide simple groceries for three meals per day, including oats, nuts, rice, canned beans and tomatoes, bread, weetbix (if you like them), eggs, fruit and vegetables and occasional meat if you want it. We are very open to incorporating your food preferences and/or dietary requirements.

    The property is a little out of town, so your own vehicle is an advantage, however hitchhiking is also very possible after a walk of about 20 mins. During the school term a school bus passes by in the mornings and afternoons, traveling to and from Lismore. During the holidays there is a bus from the main road and we can arrange to drop you there and pick you up if you want to visit town.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We prefer a mature single person or perhaps a couple traveling together, however we have also enjoyed hosting families. If you have skills in carpentry, natural building, plumbing, painting, alternative energy, cooking, baby-sitting, gardening or bush regeneration we would love to hear from you! But we are also open to anyone who is keen to learn. We prefer a two week minimum stay with longer stays (up to six months) possible for the right people.

    If this sounds like something you’d enjoy please email us with a little about yourself, including your skills and experience. As backpackers we've worked both with and as wwoofers ourselves, so we know how to make your stay fun, affordable and interesting.

    This is a long term project and people come and go regularly so please contact us re availability.

    We look forward to hearing from you :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good wifi connection that is accessible from the camping area. Unfortunately we cannot offer an inside work area.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Travelers with their own van, camper and caravan are our preference.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 941915729294