Looking for help with projects in Teton Valley, ID, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 153 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 45 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Scott started an off-grid cabin in the wilds of the Teton mountains almost 30 years ago built almost exclusively out of salvaged materials. Land we steward traditionally Bannock and Shoshone land. Where these peoples hunted and foraged in spring, summer and fall seasons.

    It has served as a remote getaway but now we are living here summers and winters. Emme is a creative soul so we built her an 'artist cabin' summer of 2020.

    We salvage materials from the local dump, take down old buildings and gather from other sources. There is So much available in the waste stream that it seems wrong to buy things new (plus it is cheap or free and we dont have alot of money). It has allowed us to stay out of debt and therefore own our own lives. This kind of building is always an adventure and has connected us with many interesting folks through the years.

    In the winter, we have to ski or snowmachine 4 miles to the cabin. In the summer we are able to drive to the 6 acre property. We are located about 16 miles North of Driggs idaho, outside the small villiage of Felt, Idaho a couple of miles from the Wyoming border.

    The Targhee National forest is a couple hundred yards from the property with the Jedediah Smith Wilderness area, Grand Teton national park and Yellowstone national park nearby, the largest intact ecosystem in the lower 48 states...a true outdoor paradise.

    We have many projects going at all times, from chopping/stacking wood for winter use, fixing up cabin, outhouse, sauna, and two restored Silo's on the property. As well as collecting/drying/storing medicinal herbs, edible mushrooms, huckleberries, and other wild food gathering. Emme is an interesting cook so workaways have loved learning and assisting in baking, fermenting, and food storage. She’s often eager to let workawayers take over cooking as well. 🤪

    Emme is a covid retired massage therapist, now active artist, plant based nutritionist and knitter of all things. Scott enjoys all the plant based food, along with venison, elk, and fish.

    Our ideal workawayer is not afraid to learn new things, is healthy and strong, optimistic, posseses common sense, is interested in living offgrid, loves animals, wants to learn, and enjoys the outdoors!

    We have a lovely converted Butler Silo, with windows, insulation, propane stove, coleman cook stove and comfy double bed, and writing area for workaways to stay in. It has a basic kitchen and provides you with your own space and privacy. You will have access to a hot shower or a wood-fired sauna.

    Scott has been working with, guiding and hosting workaways for over 20 years in Southern Utah. You can type in Boulder, UT and find his workaway host site there. Scott hosts in the spring and fall in Boulder, UT, but we'd love to host enthusiastic interesting folks who'd like to learn about our way of life, as well as share their insights to life so far while we are in Idaho Dec-March, and June-October.
    Also check out Scott’s work away site listed for Boulder Utah To see other projects we have going and see feedback from past workawayers.

    2022 projects that we'd love help with and offer our unique style of building and living with:

    Clearing downed Aspens and clearing brush for fire prevention.

    2021 was a busy year. We finished all below.

    Took down 18’ grain silo, and moved to our property to begin putting up and transforming into a living space 2023.

    Building a roof over our existing deck off main cabin with wraparound. DONE

    Finishing Emme's art studio with barnwood siding, shelving and other fun projects. DONe

    Plan to build a storage shed for our two snowmachines and motorbike from start to finish. DONE

    Digging a second outhouse hole and moving an existing little wood shed over it. Cutting in window and adding shelves. DONE

    2022. This year we really need help taking out old standing Aspens in the 2022 summer, and cutting into firewood to restock for winter days and nights. Clearing out underbrush around buildings and Evergreen trees. And making more fire breaks.

    Continuing 2022 Planting a "wild" garden here and there between the Aspens. Collecting and drying of nettle, raspberry leaves, wild rose and hips in the fall for tea. Emme plans on making goat milk (from local farmers) soap for gifts for upcoming year. A new thing and should be fun.

    2022 Building Masonbee houses, bat boxes and bird houses and putting them up around land.

    We salvage weekly at local dump and it's our favorite day. We meet our friends and come home fully loaded every week.

    You'll learn lots of construction skills on the cheap, and how to homestead and live free. Also gathering and harvesting wild plants

    Most days we head to local water hole in the afternoon and rinse off the day, before returning to make dinner around the fire. We also have two canoes so a few days a week we head to local Teton River to float. Many hiking and biking trails right from property, and access within a few miles to trails into the highlands of the Tetons.


    Contact us to see if you would be a good addition to our family.... Sincerely, Scott and Emme

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As stated above, Scott built all his homes/outbuildings using reclaimed materials, we use solar, pump or haul water. We are avid readers. Have limited, but fairly reliable Cell service. No television, internet hit or miss. Emme is an artist, specializing in plant-based nutrition, with over 40 years expereience. She also is an avid knitter, hand spinner of fiber, paints, wood carver of kitchen utensils, gardens, writes and sews. We will be putting up alot of dried medicinal herbs and fermenting our finds. Also plan on making goat milk soap this summer.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers will learn and build alongside us.

    Projects for summer 2022 on our property include: Clearing underbrush around outbuildings and under evergreens. Chopping and stacking firewood. Building mason bee houses, bat boxes and bird housing

    Assisting us in Gathering, chopping, stacking wood from surrounding area.

    Learning day to day living skills for living fully off grid.

    Assisting us in building steps up to new covered deck.

    Salvaging and building glass windowed greenhouse.

    Along with various other projects. Collecting huckleberry, nettle, rose hips, etc.



    Joining us to salvage at dump each week for materials and treasures.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways and guests stay in our Sweet old Butler Silo converted into a guest space. Propane stove, camp stove to make your own coffee or tea in a.m. and/or outdoor fire ring (where we cook most evenings...peaches with coconut oil, cinnamon and cardamom is our new favorite). Meals provided by hosts. Outhouse is a few yards away, outdoor solar heated shower or wood sauna available to work a ways .
    Emme loves cooking/baking, so workaways in past have enjoyed beautiful conciously made breakfast, lunch and dinners. And have helped in past to learn nutritional skills.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So much to see and do in our area. From hiking, mountain biking, flyfishing, canoeing, backpacking. We have outdoor gear, two canoes Mousbe and Billy, maps galore and will help send you off on adventures. In the winter you can ski out from the Silo, and there are 3 skate ski areas around Driggs, as well as Targhee for downhill. Driggs is only 30 minutes away, and hosts two libraries, a wonderful food co-op like shop, regular grocery, and many microbreweries, coffee houses and restaurants. The West Side of the Tetons is stunning and much quieter than Jackson. However, Jackson Hole is only 45 minutes away and offers a change of scenery and fun.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for small RV or pop up.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, sometimes more5 days a week



Host ref number: 938512796375