Join our family and learn more about small aircraft, custom cars, gardening, making bread and cooking in Williams Lake, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are suspending welcome due to the increasing COVID19 threat in Williams Lake, Canadathe USA and Alberta. We will post notice when we can safely accept travellers. Thanks for understanding.

    My husband and I have a large garden and workshop on 10 acres, with a few trees and a lake. Although our own lake is alkaline, there are many great fishing lakes around us that we take our small boat out to, often! We are rebuilding a 1946 Ercoupe aircraft, and my husband is a registered Aircraft Maintenance Engineer so has all the skills and tools for the job. He is also a pilot and a flight instructor. We own a rare classic sports car and go to small town car shows.

    We are re-building the gardens after nearly 20 years neglect, and have 2 small greenhouses. We are quiet people, and although the community is 35 kilometres from town, we have great ranching and farming neighbours who are always doing things! We are retired, but not 'tired'. During our working lives we traveled the world for various jobs, and have a wealth of experience.

    We hope to find someone interested in canning and dehydrating and pickling, and to help in the workshop and garden. And to take great pictures of the deer!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We pride ourselves on our life experience and our travels, and our knowledge of our community and our country. We are happy to pass it along, and we are eager to learn about other people and places. I am a Cambridge certified TESOL/TOEFL instructor, and am crazy about English. I am also certified to teach air radio telephony. My husband is 'Mr. Aviation', and can pass along 60 years aviation knowledge. We can teach garden skills, aircraft maintenance, workshop skills, cooking and baking. We have a large library and love to read. We would love to have someone to teach me some French.

  • Help

    Help

    Our traveler could help my husband with the aircraft, it would be a very practical learning opportunity. There would be, of course, small aircraft flights that needed to be made. I need help with the gardens and greenhouse, getting ready for planting. I am a great cook, and would love to have someone that would like to learn, as well as to help in the seasons when drying, pickling and preserving are happening, July through October. I bake sourdough bread at least weekly for neighbours. We have a chicken coop that needs cleaning and minor repair for a new flock this spring, and an old hay shed to take down. In the winter, there is always wood cutting and snow-blowing, and in the spring and summer there is mowing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a private bedroom and toilet/shower room for the traveller's use only. Also, he or she would have a desk and chair for their computer, and we would discuss television and movie use, as we have a large collection. The traveler would eat dinner with us, but we find our own breakfast and lunch, and our helper would of course be welcome to the pantries and the refrigerators to make their own, be it sandwiches, fresh eggs from the neighbour, or soup. We normally eat dinner around 1800 or 1900 in the evening, and like to be in bed by 2300 at the latest. Though that is often just 'best intentions'. We also brew our own wine and beer, and will share but will not be scolded. It may be important to know that there is no mobile phone coverage at our house, but we have landline and mobiles work in town, and our wifi is quick.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are quite far from town, you won't enjoy it if you need 'nightlife'. We drive in once or twice a week, and even then we have a list of what to accomplish. You will like it if you want quiet, a dark night sky, deer in the paddock, and a calm ramble around the place. There is a bicycle you can use. We have neighbours who raise all kinds of livestock and are willing to teach you how to cope with cattle, sheep, goats, and chickens, if that is your idea of fun!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 931759844853