Help with our children and pets in the small fishing town of Beachport, Australia

  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 23 Aug 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are Sarah and Dan and our 3 children (Heidi 5, Lena& Logan 3) two cats, a rabbit and 2 dogs living in Beachport a small Lobster fishing town in South Australia.
    We have a family house with a small garden opposite from a Lagoon and not far ( 8min walk) from the town centre and the beach.
    The town is quite in the winter months (June-Aug) but is full of life and visitors in the summer (Dec-Feb) and through till Easter.
    Beachport offers it's visitors a variety of cafe's and restaurant, a pub a pizzeria and a fish& chip shop, a bakery and supermarket, gift shops, clothing and deco - style.
    There are plenty of opportunities for going fishing, beautiful beach walks and 4WD tracks in the sand hills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our children grow up bilingual , understand and just started to speak German as the second language.
    It would be beneficial to them speaking as much as possible. However most time the children would speak in English or when spoken German, they may answer in German.
    We are providing meals on the working days, and are open to try dishes from other countries.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a workawayer, (preferably female, from 3 weeks on) who could take on the tasks such as caring for the children and animals, cooking meals and cleaning up after and other light household duties / packing up toys or putting washing on.
    If its on a working day, there will be drop offs and pick ups to and from Kindy on 2 -3 days a week.
    We ask the workawayer to be flexible as our working schedule is always changing. The hours we need to cover is 25 hours (per week). The rest of the week is free to explore Beachport and its surroundings.
    Please ask for more specification when interested.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    The children growing up bilingual and it would be a great asset to deepen the German language or to introduce them any other language, coming from the workawayer.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in a spacious Granny-flat in the backyard , one private bedroom and living area , shared kitchen and bathroom and a decking overlooking the garden. Internet available. (as shown in photos)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beachport is offering a variety on sportive activities such as dancing and yoga classes, there is also a little cinema, library, a golf course, tennis grounds and a bowling club. The nearest city Mount Gambier is about 80km away, where we shop occasionally. There is a small Airport offering domestic flights to Adelaide and other destinations. We can provide a lift or pick up if needed.
    Adelaide is the Capital city from South Australia and there is a bus connection from Beachport regularly. ($80 one way)
    It is possible to getaway for a long weekend. Adelaide is also the home of Festivals, concerts, shows and more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week

Host ref number: 919173285734

Feedback