Help needed clearing forest after the fires and rebuilding stone artists studio after the recent fires in Pedrogao Grande in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    112

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple living in a peaceful location in central Portugal. We grow olives vines and organic vegetables .
    We live on a beautiful quinta in the forest which was gutted by the fires that destroyed so much land in this wonderful countryside.
    Our farmhouse and vegetable /herb gardens have survived but my land , many trees and my little roundhouse studio was burnt to the ground and I would like to try to rebuild it with the help of a team of experienced volunteers.
    All eco building, roofing, electrical, plumbing ,carpentry and organisational skills are needed .
    I also need help cleaning brushwood and debris left by the fires in order to comply with the new laws about forest management in Portugal
    In return I can offer a small cottage , place to camp, a beautiful salt water swimming pool , good food, ( I am vegan but cooking vegetarian and meat and fish is no problem)
    I need help now .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Difficult question..... Perhaps I will learn more from volunteers that they will learn from me but I hope people will enjoy hospitality and the tranquility of a wonderful region of Portugal and natural environment in a beautiful climate.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed rebuilding burnt stone artist studio, cleaning land,
    repairing fences, general odd jobs, vegetable and herb garden, pruning vines and fruit trees, cooking,, painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    small one roomed cottage and tents.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the quinta is within walking distance of a lovely little river beach and about ten kilometres from a beautiful lake where you can fish, canoe or swim . There is a cafe bar at the edge of the forest within a five mile walk

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 918648143577