Volunteer in beautiful Northern BC!

  • Canada
  • Favourited 53 times
  • Last activity: 16 Sep 2022



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Welcome to Fort St James!
    My family and I love living here as there is so much to do outside year round. We value clean off grid living and have one daughter, 2 dogs and 2 cats.
    Projects ongoing include manual land clearing and trail building.
    Future projects that may be at some stage upon your visit include a root cellar, swimming pond and ornamental vegetable garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We own a landscape company and implement much offer love of permaculture and trade skills to the property. We have only been developing by it for the past 5 years so there is still much to do!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for mainly trail work this year though there may be some wood splitting and stacking as well.
    Trail work includes clearing and piling unwanted debris and logs that we have cut already with the chainsaw.
    Other jobs may include general work/cleaning around the house. Washing windows, weeding, berry picking, watering the plants etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    At this time we are only taking hosts that are set up for camping or would be comfortable in our insulated treehouse or yoga space in the upstairs of our garage. We will of course provide access to water, washroom facilities and meals, but as we are early risers and our home is open concept a lacks privacy, we would love to host anyone that is ready or willing to camp. We can provide camping gear as well if necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fort St. James is SO beautiful! I have been across Canada several times and this is where I have chosen to hang my hat and raise my family. There are endless recreational activities to do here from hiking, fishing, swimming, rock climbing, canoeing, horseback riding, skiing and snow showing, biking etc etc.
    The land and lake are pristine and the people in the community are so very nice and welcoming.
    There are more organised activities in the winter months than I can count to keep one busy.
    I would be willing to provide a reference to a volunteer for their work upon completion as well as teach them what I can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 would be great!

Host ref number: 914376795936