I bought a small "castle" 100km away from Paris and need help in the final stages of renovation - France




Favourited 274 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I'm an adoptive father of 3 siblings (and grand-dad of 2 grand-children), born in Democratic Republic of Congo, who are living around Paris and regularly coming for help during holidays. I'm gay, my partner, Tony, who was living in California, has just recently moved to my place for good.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you plumbing, electricity, wall skimming, tilling, flooring .... what ever you name it. The place is the castle of a small French village. The property is surrounded by farmers and woods.
    I fluently speak Italian, German and English.

  • Help


    2 years ago, I bought a small "castle" 100km away from Paris that had been turned into an old aged home for the last 40 years. The building had been largely damaged. Around the building there is an 8 acres grounds, which I'm turning into a permaculture land. For the last 15 months I've been renovating the house and the grounds, but I'm now tremendously needing help for the last bit of the renovation. Essentially, it concerns the 2nd floor that has to be turned into à 4 en-suite bedrooms with an open plan kitchen-dining room for guests.
    I'm originally a builder, as well as an artist. I'm born in France, and I'm 53 years old.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, German, English, French

  • Accommodation


    There are 9 comfortable bedrooms, each and any helper will have his/her own bedroom, a good central heating system (heat pump) and 4 showers. Most of the food I buy is local and/or organic ; I do not cook meat more than twice a week. I'm ok to help you with the transportation cost to my place if need be.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Train station is 4,5 km away from the castle, and drives you within 1hour and 15 minutes to Paris Gare de Lyon. There are bicycles, and 2 small motor boats (as the property is directly bordered by the river Yonne).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 914144666281