Come and Help in a tiny farm in the village of Fakiya, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    478

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: 12th February 2020

    Welcome to my profile :) The average reply time...I forgot to reply to an inquiry :D

    I was inspired by Masanobu Fukuoka some 3 years ago and after having tried out different techniques in the last 2 years. I got to know that no-till also requires some kind of preparation (what I had not realized in the beginning). So we have to start preparing the plot for cover crops.

    In spring/summer I grow here beans, peas, chick-peas, raspberries...

    While the place gives you the opportunity to reflect deep about the world I won't use big words to describe it and give you directions on how you should feel here or what you should reach etc. What I do is basically work in the garden and let my thoughts roam freely. Nothing forceful. Because you are the closest to yoga when you are concentrated the most.

    With the help of my father I've built a yurt in the field. The main purpose was to prove that you don't have to work all your life long after you've got a bank loan and a flat in a city. And still live a satisfied life as close to the nature as possible.

    In the past I used to live in Sofia and a bit in Brno working for big companies, sitting all day long in front of a PC, talking with unhappy customers. Now I am living a layed back life in my father's home town of Fakia. And noticed BTW that here I even work more than in the big cities. But I can enjoy the work here :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are eager to I'd love to teach you Bulgarian folk dances/songs.
    If you play an instrument I'd love to play together, me-clarinette and local folk music.

  • Help

    Help

    In the coming days I will need to start seeding of chickpeas and peas.
    And to complete cleaning the garden from last year's weeds.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self made Mongolian type yurt with toilet, bath and electrical heating.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time you can bike in the mountain, fish at the river. You can also visit Burgas-the fourth largest city is just 60 km away and accessible with public transport. There is a bus twice a day out of the village. I can also take you to the nearest town by car whenever you need that. In Burgas you can walk in the sea garden. In winter time you can't unfortunately enjoy the sea to its full extent.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 912949459613