Help wanted on a classic caravan restoration project in Andalucia



Favourited 57 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are an English couple with two relatively grown up children who have moved on to live their own lives, leaving us in need of an extra pair of hands to help out around the place. We live in a small, fairly isolated Spanish village in the Granada Province of Andalucia, near to the town of Orgiva, with no vehicle access, mains electricity or mains water. We have solar power and we pump our water up to holding tanks which we then gravity feed to the house. Both therefore are precious commodities that must be used sparingly. We have a vegetable garden, a mule, a horse, a lunatic (but friendly) dog and a cat . We bought the house (then ruin) fifteen years ago and have pretty much finished renovating it and now have other projects that we want to pursue. Sarah is an experienced gardener and Barney is a carpenter/joiner and general builder.
    The village itself is sometimes quiet, sometimes not. We have several neighbours, mostly English but it is a very transient place and many people of different nationalities often pass through.
    Please no dogs.
    A spring provides the drinking water.
    We speak English and Spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an extraordinary place. Everyone here has many different skills. Many people pass through, some often stay. The opportunity to meet people of different nationalities and experiences is almost endless. You can learn about solar power; composting toilets; watering the land with the "acequias"; (hand dug Moorish watering channels that divert the water from the river along the side of the mountain to flood irrigate the terraces and flat land below) organic gardening, building (both "eco" and conventional), chickens; goats; ducks; carpentry, green woodwork; woodturning; pruning; grafting trees; cooking; baking and much much more. We have olives; almonds; oranges; lemons; paraguayas; plums; grapefruit; fig; pomegranate etc etc.
    It truly is a paradise with many opportunities.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Some years ago we bought a 1960's Showman's wagon in order really to stop a historical trailer from being towed away and scrapped. Had we known what condition it was in we probably wouldn't have bothered. But we did and now have the time and energy to restore it to it's former glory. As you can see from the photos we uploaded this is going to involve a total rebuild from the chassis upwards. We've made a start but it takes more hands than we've got between us to do. The project will involve carpentry, metalwork, painting, joinery, woodturning and many other skilled works. What we are looking for is someone with some or all of these skills who would like to come and help out or someone who has a desire to learn some of these skills and get involved. They don't need to be a professional by any stretch but be motivated, and have an aptitude for and an interest in a project such as this. Added to this we have a horse and mule, and other animals to look after and plenty of other day to day chores to do in both the house and on the land.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We can either offer a large,dry, comfortable caravan with cooking facilities and a double bed or a bedroom separated from the main house which would involve sharing our kitchen. For the time being, bathroom and toilet facilities would be shared with us, but part of the plan is to build a shower and compost toilet near to the caravan.
    I think mostly we'd eat together but occasionally everyone needs a bit of space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Granada, offering The Alhambra is not far and is served by a fairly regular bus service. The Sierra Nevada mountain range too is nearby. There are many walks to go on and cycling is popular around here.
    We are a couple of kilometres from the nearest bus stop but can offer lifts and many of us drive into town regularly.
    There is a market every Thursday in the nearby town.
    There are two other alternative communities nearby you'd be welcome to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 899239635765