Teach me how to cook and stay with us in an off-grid cabin in the Willapa hills, Raymond, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family living in a small cabin off grid with water and sun as our main source of energy. We live next to our 40acres of timberland in the heart of the Willapa hills in the great Pacific northwest. We live just center distance from Seattle and Portland. One of the greatest features of our area is the evergreen natural environment. The beauty is stunning. Many of us take to the woods daily for hiking, biking, hunting, horseback riding, or if we are young spirited, making fairy houses! Where there are hills there are valleys with rivers for boating, fishing and swimming in local swim holes. Winters are mild yet, wet with rain. Although, i have never seen another place with so many sun showers which always lift the spirits during the many months of shorter days.

    One of us works outside the home fulltime and the other inside the home 24-7 between household duties and raising children. Two adults and two children ages 5 and 3 months! There is little space, but enough to make due.

    We hope to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This area was settled by immigrants from Poland escaping their war torn country and finding new hope in the bounties of our beautiful land. Farm life is ever present. These farmers are one of a kind and can teach so much about this hard-knock-life that they so humbly brush off as just another small thing they had to do to get by.
    Also, if you are interested in hunting and living off the wild animals, go no further! We have a bounty here with no end to hunters wanting to tell their story and teach a thing or two about their favorite hunting ways.

  • Help

    Help

    I have always been challenged by cooking a decent meal...help! I want to learn! I would ask for a few homecooked meals in the evening and some breakfasts to be prepared with the intention of teaching me the meal plan, shopping required and food prep.
    I currently am using the babbel language learning app and would adore having someone speak to me in Spanish regularly so i can hone my (currently preschool level) language skills. It's just for fun...
    I would ask for general cleaning help, floors, countertops, living areas to be tidied often.
    The older child would require some playtime every day to make up stories and pretend to be a horse or some other creature! I would be caring for infant at all times. Although, i would need someone comfortable with babies, as sometimes i need a quick extra hand and my 5 year old is not strong enough to trust with a baby.
    We are gardening for first time this year and want to experiment with winter crops. If you have experience and knowledge about that, it would be helpful but this is not required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (little bit)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A one room in the cabin. Shared kitchen, bathroom and all other living spaces. You have access to fridge and pantry, meals provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have available transport by bike or car if you have drivers license or we can drop you off and pick up as needed. Also there is a dial a ride available

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 894599847867