Get creative on a permaculture farm in Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    646

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 50-something Dutch/Northern Irish couple running a small permaculture / natural farming project in rural Northern Ireland on the beautiful Ards Peninsula between the Irish Sea and Strangford Lough. We grow a mixed natural farm with fruit trees, even grapevines, vegetables and herbs. The Fukuoka style farming involves relatively little work, hardly any digging or weeding. We just need to beat back the bush every now and then. We also keep chickens and ducks are planning to get some bees by next year, if someone would like to build us a beehive.

    You will hopefully become part of our micro-community.

    We live within a mile of the nearest small shop and 3 miles from the town of Portaferry, which offers a number of shops and cosy pubs with traditional music as well as stunning scenery and an aquarium. There are bicycles available to move around.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like playing music at night. You will learn how to live in harmony with nature, foraging for wild plants, food processing, including jam making, wine making, chutneys, ferments etc.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers would be involved in general tidying in the garden, harvesting and processing the harvest, foraging for edibles, cooking and anything creative you might come up with. We are looking for people with initiative, who don't need constant supervision and can find their own jobs. The first principle of permaculture is: 'Observe and Interact'. We don't count working hours, just projects completed. If you are good with wood, you could build us a beehive for example. Accommodation is in a comfortable double room or in our Mongolian yurt on straw bales, depending who else is here. Occasionally we need house sitters too, when we go over to our other plot in Italy to look after the cat, dog and chickens.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Dutch, Italian, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable room with a double bed and/or on straw bales in an 18 foot Mongolian yurt. Meals are of course included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live directly on a bus route from Belfast, which is a bit over 1 1/2 hours away. The immediate area is very beautiful and unspoiled with long sandy and also quiet rugged beaches very close by. A short ferry trip will take you across to the location of some Game of Throne scenes (it's a nice park even if you don't like GOT).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day 5 days a week

Lina from Germany and Ashley from the USA creating a roof garden for us
Fionn from Germany and ourselves
Polly from Hong Kong doing some weeding
Patrick from the USA fixing the chicken shed
Molly from Australia and Frances from the USA/Italy painting us a sign with chalk paint
Erney from Malaysia doing some winter tidying up in the polytunnel
Chilling with Tara and Rosie both from Ireland around the fire
Suzannah from Croatia picking a salad and getting to know Eddie the Beagle
Felix from Germany, Jaap from the Netherlands and Molly from Australia on completion of our pond
Lucas and Juliette from France building us a duck house
The yurt which functions as one of our bedrooms
The house and part of the garden



Host ref number: 893974699821