Organic cacao in a reforestation project in Izabal, Guatemala

  • Favourited 48 times
  • Last activity: 12 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a reforestation project that started year 2006 and is aiming to the recovery of sub-tropical forest, under some of our trees we have planted cacao and we are harvesting our organic pods which we export and sale locally crafted as chocolate bars.

    You can learn but also help us with the formation and architecture of plants (horticulture) and the fermentation process of raw cacao.

    The art center / community center is 40% built and we have much work ahead and in need of hands, ideas and above care to push forward in finding ways to provide a solid platform for the near by communities in the area of farming, education and health.

    We live in the middle of the rain forest and we like to produce as little rubbish as possible, we like to use as much as bio degradable products for our personal care as well as cleaning, we are thoughtful consumers and like to support anyone who live similarly.

    Lady (my beautiful female dog) is a little suspicious about everything, she was rescued from a mean environment she's currently being nurtured, cared and loved! as to be reminded life is good.

    Transport we can schedule to meet in rio Dulce or el Estor other wise get off at the crossing of aldea Nueva Esperanza and I will pick you up, from there the adventure begins with a real 4x4 off road drive of 20 minutes trough the jungle.

    We usually go every two weeks to town for supplies and we are happy to give you a ride if you want to take a break or need something in town alternatively you can walk back to the already mention crossing which is a 35 min and from there wait for the public transport which can take you el estor or rio dulce both towns are fun although rio dulce its more hectic but quiet beautiful.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the rain forest, the cultural exchange will be with the Q'ech'i native indigenous communities near by; since the project is aiming to rural development and cultural respect you will be in direct contact with natives of the area which can share with you a one in life time experience in the ways they live individually and as a culture.

    Jorge and Dany are the heads of project and you will be working along with them so you will get daily interaction with them. They work from 7:00 to 16:00 and you can meet them the day before to discuss details of the activities for the following day(s) and see how you can help them.

    The village where our workers come from is a 20 min walk where you can find a basic variety of veggies which can be a nice walk but also you can fetch items you might be missing for your meals.

    The benefits we gather are always limited to our willingness or readiness to receive benefits so there will be plenty of great things you could benefit from.

    Alternative stay can be arrange at Jorge's house where you will get the chance to spend time with villagers and his family :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Please contact me only if you are sure you are TRULY INTERESTED

    We live in the rain forest temperatures range from 27 to 38 Celsius, humid ranges from 75 to 90%; it's a rain forest area which means when it rains it truly rains and we are in a rain forest reserve! So we have all the life that comes with like frogs, insects, ants, spiders, etc... think well if you are confortable with the wild life we are sharing the reserve with.

    Minimum stay is of at least 2 weeks.

    Thanks for considering helping us.

    In the area of horticulture, depending on weather we do management of the actual plant by helping to keep a healthy form and shape for the purpose of fruit baring as well as sanitary reason so as to prevent bugs from establishing in the plantation as we only use of none chemical preventing methods.

    Cacao Pod collection, we started collecting fresh cacao pods the work is done through manual collecting from the tree; fruit is cut and placed near the road where is collected every second day by a car if the load is large enough other wise is carried with sacs to the storage/fermenting area.

    The work will consist in the use of scissors to cut the fruit and/or trim plants.

    Farming, we have a new chicken house and its missing few details which will provided us with fresh egg daily we like to feed them as much as we can food remains, there will be little cleaning work for them every 10 days or so but the collecting of eggs should be done daily the moment we get the chicken water system needs to be installed everything is here just needs to be install so we can get new family members...

    We have seasonal crops like lime trees, lichees, manioca, pineapple, mangos and others which require some care two or tree times a weeks like pruning, fruit collecting or weed management. (seasonal availability)

    Wood work, building and mechanical skills are required as we are constantly improving or giving maintenance to our living conditions and engage in handcraft seminars for the locals to be able to make a living with dignity or improving their lives... we have plenty of mini projects in the area of carpentry, handcrafts or art for the near by communities as well as for our project.

    Education, we are looking for native Spanish speakers as well as English speakers as first language cause we would like to host teachers or anyone wishing to improve the locals language skills.

    Pet care, ones or twice a month I leave the project for 3 to 6 days during those days Lady would be happy to get feed or an afternoon walk.

    Forest surveying and monitoring; just now Oct '09 we got our Bio-diversity protection reserve certified the 21 ha (42 acres) of Reserve is located next to a small river and we are conducting some data collecting, surveys and/or monitoring the area. The trails of the reserve need to be marked, boundary perimeters have to be checked...

    all in all we can easily find a way you can help us to help, our intention and vision for our place is to set an example of what it can be accomplished through our will.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Hebrew

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A shared rustic peaceful cabin, electricity is limited there is solar light which can run through the night; internet is available when you have your own cellphone with a local sim card, Tigo cellphone signal provider have an ok! Internet coverage in the area.

    The cabin have a loft with a double bed accommodation, in the bottom there is a bed and at times a sofa bed is use when necessary, you will be provided with a mosquito net, the cabin has its own shower and toilet, the water to our buildings comes by gravity for an ok shower but we do have good pressure in an out door shower near community/art center (under construction)

    We have a fridge running at the construction site which will be share as well as the cooking area, you are welcome to prepare your own meals we usually have vegetarian meal and fresh water fish at times.

    The project is able to provide you with the ingredients for 3 meals a day, please help us by preparing your own meals and clean after used utensils. We go to town every second week when we pick supplies when we could also coordinate to pick you up so you can catch a ride before we go to the project you can do a market run so think about the items you will like to have for your first week please provide us in advance with your specific diet in that way we can exclude them from our list of foods which can be of potential harm to your wellbeing.

    It’s expected you help us 4-5 hrs of daily work from Monday to Friday and, we need your help in regards of preparing your own food, so far it has work great as "workawayers" coordinating their food making as a group and not individuals when you are more than one in the project.

    In the second kitchen we always have beans or some other yummy things depending on the season, we expect you to help your self and keep the place tidy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can wonder around in our ecological trails or visit local communities 20 min walk, finca Paraiso is 30 min from here which is a great way to wrap the work week or freshen up to carry on with your life journey, we live in a secluded area and the road it’s an adventure specially when it rains getting in and it’s limited by weather or a walk of 45 minutes.

    We go to town as little as possible but when ever we go to town I’ll let you know a day a head where you could catch a ride help out with shopping or just rest if is week end...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We recently got good internet and speeds are good for any kind of work :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Required 4x4 skills and vehicle.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    any type :) and always welcome !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 893331458898

Feedback (1)



Feedback





Experience the alternative with our family in rural Antigua Guatemala, Santa Maria de Jesús.
Join our family and help the kids with their online lessons in San Marcos la Laguna, Guatemala