Help on our farm in Wingham, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    456

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are currently in drought and in need of help immediately in feeding cattle and other farm work. Owners Lauren and Greg are the proud owners of this award winning prime Hereford Farm.We are a registered working farm .

    The farm is set in the picturesque Manning Valley located 4 hours north of Sydney. Near Taree on the Mid north coast we are only 5 km from the town of wingham and 2 hours north of Newcastle and within an short radius you will find the beautiful beaches of Forster, Port Macquarie and the well know Barrington Tops National park near Gloucester. We are a family of 2 adults with grown up kids that return at various times and lots of different animals.The Comboyne Mountain range provides a scenic backdrop to our beautiful property.

    We are a paddock to plate operation selling our grass fed beef into Sydney each weekend. We need someone strong and confident and keen to get your hands dirty, to help with daily cattle feeding and other farm and domestic jobs. eg: cleaning chooks sheds, feeding the dogs. Jobs will vary on a daily basis. It would be a bonus if you have any experience in driving a tractor, quad bike.

    The farm is surrounded by landscaped gardens and manicured lawns .There is a farm stay located on the property and this is also involved in the day to day operating of the farm.At present you will be housed in the brand new workers flat or bring your own camper van if you prefer.Please make sure you have a hat and boots to wear on the farm as the sun is hot in Australia,Outside there is a spa and pool to relax in and river and shops are close by, with banks and post office. Phone and Internet coverage on the farm is great if you use Telstra or any other main provider. if you wish to be part of a Australian family and enjoy country life style and are happy to work at various jobs with a smile this is the place to be. you will need all your own up to date medical / travel insurance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to work on a real farm as others have with us .learn skills about low stress cattle and the difference it makes to them .learn about a real paddock to plate Business learn how people like to be connect to the farm we also offer to teach you skills on machinery if you can prove you are suited to this task. You are welcome to stay longer if you fit into our core values and are a happy type of person

  • Help

    Help

    Any help is welcome and we look forward to teaching you new skills and also look forward to learning new ones ourselves from you.Previous helpers have left with many new skills and have become long term friends.

    Work will vary depending on requirements.

    We currently need help with daily feeding of cattle, cleaning and feeding of chickens, feed the dog, gardening, cleaning up the farm of logs and broken fences, cleaning farmstay, help in the cattle yards i.e. drenching vacinating.

    Strength, confidence required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    New high quality works own flat located under main house or bring your own van if that suits you better we have plug in power points .we will supply all normal meals provide the same as we eat you eat . If your from over seas we look forward to learning your favourite dish and we are in the food game as producer your sure to eat the best in season produce we so get from the markets when it in season. At times the studio will be booked so helpers will be housed in our house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of local drives bush walks and near by Beachs. very happy safe trendy local country town with good shops and food in town has coffee shops gift shops
    The district close to major town and good facilities move shows entertainment venues as well as major chain stores

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 892819623547