Help welcome on rural olive grove close to the Mediterranean in Western Liguria, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 1995 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    89  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are close to French border. Taggia is our nearest town. Sanremo is 8km from us. The nearby (3- 4km) local beaches are excellent and we are an easy day trip from Menton and Monaco. Many helpers have particularly enjoyed mountain biking and hiking in the hills inland from us.

    During these covid times placements need careful consideration to ensure we are all safe. We expect all helpers to have been vaccinated if possible and are not prepared to have people who refuse vaccines or do not follow covid regulations.

    Helpers with electrical, plumbing, gardening, dry stone walling and building/maintenance skills are usually especially welcome as, occasionally, are reliable short term house-sitters as we prefer the place to be occupied when we are not here.

    We can often welcome fit people capable of general labouring outdoor tasks even if unskilled! Space is very limited so we are sorry but we cannot accommodate families or people without the skills we need or. usually, people for less than 10 days.

    Winter is usually mild in this part of Italy but you need to be aware that the cabin is not heated, although it has hot water and you would have access to the house during the day.

    Occasionally we need house sitters but will need to have references for this. House sitting may be on the usual Workaway basis of up to 25 hours/week in which case I would leave food and money for food or you could choose to do less and provide for yourselves, or indeed a bit of both! We would agree this in advance. We need, however, to be sure that housesitters can cope with the demands of the property and the 2+km steep track to the town. There are no immediate residential neighbours.

    You need to be aware that 'unskilled' work can be physically demanding, especially during hot summer months. We expect helpers to be proactive and not need constant supervision.

    The house is small and organising dates to suit can be difficult so please be as specific as you can when contacting us.
    Accommodation is usually in our very comfortable cabin ( with own shower,etc.) All food is provided. We like to eat together but are happy for you to make picnic lunches to take when you have days off. We are keen cooks and enjoy sharing experiences.

    Please also indicate what skills you have or your ability to do demanding physical labour.

    Please note
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We cannot support visa applications. Initial placements are usually no longer than two weeks.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ The property is a steep 2km walk up from Taggia old town. There are no immediate residential neighbours and the place may seem feel too isolated for some people. We love tranquility of it. It is usually best suited to couples or two travelling friends. Please look at our references.
    * We cannot accommodate children
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We require you have your own insurance if not from the EU.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ If you are new to Workaway and have no references, please state clearly what your expectations are
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Our access is a demanding track so please check with us if you plan to bring your own vehicle. You can see a video of the access road on YouTube The Road to Canelli!

    We are committed to the whole philosophy of Workaway, want helpers to enjoy their time with us and have made life-long friends. Please see our references!

    We have a small olive grove - Our knowledge of oil production is derived from our neighbours and we are learning. We have a hectare of land which is a bit beyond what we can manage given that we don't live there and have jobs, etc. We are not certified organic but try to be ecologically sound - have solar power, don't use insecticides, compost, etc. Our neighbours are harvesting our trees this year and you may be able to join in for a genuinely Ligurian experience!

    Sue is a retired teacher originally from New Zealand. We all love cooking and will treat volunteers well! We have a swimming pool and are about 4 km from the sea.

    We receive a lot of requests and will respond asap as we understand the importance of being able to plan. It would be helpful to give specific dates if possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although not Italian we are well integrated into the local agricultural community, have a good knowledge of the history and issues of the area, etc. We are the only foreigners in the immediate area.

  • Help

    Help

    Please see our references! Workaway benefits both hosts and helpers and we are very grateful to have had really fantastic helpers.

    Please note that we attempt to be responsible hosts and we require you to have personal insurance if you are from outside the EU. We also require you to give us next of kin details.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a self contained cabin with its own toilet and shower. Our limited accommodation means we have to plan carefully.
    We have bicycles for your use and there is an excellent cycle track along the coast.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please ask. You may wish to see our closed Facebook group which gives a good flavour of the place and contains lots of contributions from previous workdays and volunteers.

    We don't ever have groups of helpers because we cannot accommodate many. It is usually best to come as a couple or with a friend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 25 hours, max 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


























































Host ref number: 8926756224c2