Help our family around the house in beautiful Rungsted, Denmark



Favourited 106 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    My name is Elsebet, and I live in the town of Rungsted, on the coast about 25 km north of Copenhagen, in an beautiful villa from 1913. I have a lovely garden that I enjoy, as well as the ocean, which is only 100 meters away.
    I am retired but I was a social worker for many years, working with young people who had problems with substance abuse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rungsted is located on the coast between Copenhagen and Helsingør (Elsinore), where (fictional) Hamlet's (very real) castle is located. There is plenty of history and architecture to explore on and around the beautiful coast, and the train to Copenhagen from Rungsted station takes about 25 minutes.
    I enjoy getting to know new people, and learn about new cultures.

  • Help


    I broke my arm earlier this month and I am in the process of training and rehabilitation, so I am looking for someone who would be able to help me with jobs around the house and garden. E.g. cleaning, helping with cooking and shopping, driving me, gardening (although the garden will hibernate from October/November onward).
    If you have computer (Apple/Mac) skills, that would also be very helpful, but not mandatory.
    I have been running a B&B since the late 1980's, so you will be staying in one of the B&B rooms on the second floor of the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in your own room on the second floor of the house. There are two rooms on the second floor, and the other room will occasionally be rented out on a B&B basis. There is a bathroom on the second floor that the two rooms share.
    We will prepare meals together, as well as clean up after meals. Breakfast and lunch are usually more "on-the-go" types of meals but dinner is usually a sit-down meal. But every day is different, so we will just see what the day brings :-).
    I typically eat traditional northern European fare (I am not vegetarian or vegan) but I am open to all types of cuisine. I do not enjoy spicy foods, though.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is easy to get around Denmark with public transportation but it would also be beneficial if you have a driver's license to go shopping etc.
    The marina in Rungsted offers both nightlife and an array of restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 891712294551