Help us to develop our organic farm in Melbourne, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2020

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five who left the city for the country two years ago. We are still in our first steps in the development of our farm where we have some chickens, gardens and small fruit trees. We grow heritage seeds without pesticides or herbicides and using organic techniques.

    Nous sommes une famille de cinq qui avons quitté la ville pour la campagne voilà deux ans. Nous en sommes encore à nos premiers pas dans l’aménagement de notre fermette, où nous avons quelques poules, carrés de potagers et petits arbres fruitiers. Nous cultivons des semences du patrimoine, sans pesticide ou herbicide et selon des techniques bio.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    A little help to do the work would be welcome this summer! We plan to build new gardens and vegetable gardens, build a bigger barn and a rabbit hutch, install and clean woody vines, to collect firewood. We would like to invite helpers who are happy to work autonimously, ready to handle basic tools (shovel, rake, saw, hammer ...) and small machine tools (chainsaws, lawn mower, hedge trimmer).

    Un peu d’aide pour effectuer les travaux serait bienvenue cet été! Nous planifions aménager de nouveaux jardins et potagers, construire un plus grand poulailler et un clapier à lapins, installer les vignes et nettoyer les boisés pour collecter le bois de chauffage. Nous aimerions inviter des helpers autonomes, prêts à manipuler des outils de base (pelle, râteau, scie, marteau…) et de petites machine-outils (tronçonneuse, tondeuse, taille-haie).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate one or two people at a time, between June 1 and September 30, approximately.You will have: a room on the ground floor, overlooking the gardens and woodland.

    Nous pouvons accueillir une ou deux personnes à la fois, entre le 1er juin et le 30 septembre approximativement. À votre dispo : une chambre vitrée au rez-de-chaussée, donnant sur les jardins et le boisé.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in the enchanting setting of the Township of Melbourne, 1 km from the city of Richmond and commercial amenities. Wooded strolls, stream with waterfall and swimming pool for those who are not afraid of cold water. Trans Canada Trail - bike path and walking trail - passes the house. Bicycles are at your disposal during your free time.


    Nous sommes situés dans le cadre enchanteur du Canton de Melbourne, à 1 kilomètre de la ville de Richmond et des commodités commerciales. Boisé pour petite promenade, ruisseau avec chute et bassin de baignade pour ceux qui n’ont pas peur de l’eau froide. Sentier transcanadien - piste cyclable et sentier de randonnée - passe devant la maison. Des vélos sont à votre disposition lors de vos temps libres.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4/5 hours, 5 days a week - 4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.



Host ref number: 891689364924