Join our warm and welcoming international family in Iowa, US

Country

United States

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Steve and Katya, and our homeschooled kids: Milana, Max, and Lena. Steve is a software engineer, Katya is an international trainer for community organizing for drug prevention in Central Asia. We live in a 3-level house, with a green yard, small garden, with lots of wildlife and a park with a small creek adjacent to our yard. We love bird watching. We live in a liberal and diverse Iowa City, Iowa. Iowa City is recognized as a City of Literature by UNESCO, and boasts many cultural festivals and is a very happening city.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an international family who are very warm and welcoming, and easy going: Steve is from Wisconsin, Katya is from Russian Siberia. Our kids are bilingual. We practice mostly healthy eating, have a ton of books, and stimulating conversations. The area has lots to offer: shopping, dining, theaters, dance, all kinds of free educational opportunities at the University of Iowa.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like host someone who would enrich our life with new experiences, culture, and personality. You would join us as a family member, and would provide light help around the house and join us in occasional seasonal yard work. If you can speak Russian or another language, or can play an instrument, or can offer a skill you can teach us or share with us, that's a plus. We love trying homemade foods from different cultures, because it's usually very different from what one can experience at a restaurant.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spacious bedroom on the same floor as our bedrooms, it has a comfy memory foam bed, closet, dresser, mirror, and a desk. We have a guitar and a piano you can use to practice. And fast speed WiFi. We offer home cooked meals with our family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on a bus line, there are parks with lakes for swimming and boating in the area, and lots of trails for biking, jogging and walking. We have a cat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 888364952727