Help us around our property in Tasmania

Country

Australia

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/02/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Hospitality and Catering Teacher in a high school living in a 1960's style weatherboard house in Glenorchy in Hobart. The house is light and airy and has a beachy feel with modern kitchen, open living, smart tv with netflix and wifi. There is a bus stop nearby to the city taking ten minutes.
    I am trying to create an easy maintenance garden at the front with an outdoor kitchen and hopefully woodfired oven at the back. Anyone who can help me build an outdoor bench using recycled bricks and timber is most welcome. I have also cleared a patch for a winter vegetable garden. I am also looking for help plastering and repainting our house.
    I love all things Italian and cook Mediterranean food very well. My husband is Fijian so we have a relaxed approach to life. We enjoy meeting new people, guiding them to the best places in Tassie and enjoying new people around the kitchen table exchanging points of view. Casa nostra e casa vostra!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sitting around the kitchen table having a meal together, laughing and chatting is my favourite pastime. I can speak Italian, and understand some French and Spanish. My husband is Fijian and speaks Japanese. We have hosted students from Japan before and enjoyed creating memorable moments for them during their stay with us. Happy to show around, take on excursions and share a meal with.

  • Help

    Help

    Main focus is to clear the garden of debris and rake it. Setting up a winter vegetable garden patch. Clearing the garage for a tip run. Touch up painting around the house. Building an outdoor kitchen with recycled materials.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, French, Spanish, Japanese, Fijian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with double bed. Access to home office, smart tv and wifi networks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hobart is booming and there is a lot to do. Plenty of free events, great cafes and bars, Mona museum is close by.
    There is a bus stop near the house to the city. My husband and I both work from Monday to Friday so we will not be home during the day. Happy to cook for or share cooking ( so we can try new recipes). I have a clean up as you go approach to the kitchen with a dishwasher available. Whenever you leave the house make sure the front and back doors are locked. Keep all areas of the house tidy and we will get along fine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 887198414549