Help needed in a little farm in the countryside (South Estonia)

Country

Estonia

updated  

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear workawayers! In October we would need a volunteer who has some experience in woodwork and building and who feels good helping us with woodworking and building projects. It would be could if you could stay at least for 2 weeks and can say exact dates of arrival and departure!

    We are Imbi and Andres and we've been living in the countryside with our two sons since 2015. We have a small farmstead and enough land to grow food for ourselves. Our farmstead is in the southern part of Estonia 4.5 km from the Latvian border. The nature is beautiful of course.

    Our main goal is to develop our handicraft cottage and be strong community members. Our family is member of Parmu Ecovillage (there's a video where you can see the nature on youtube: Tule kuidas tahad by Tulekuidastahad Valgamaa, concept by Parmu Ecovillage). The members are very friendly and supportive, there's also active village community.

    We are experimenting with permaculture and hope to be as self-sufficient as possible. We have vegetable garden, goats, chicken, cats and a German Shepherd. Our food is 70% organically grown (more during the harvesting period, less in the winter and in the spring). We would like our food to be 100% organically grown and most of it from our garden. We use meat (rarely), dairy and eggs in our food.

    Besides growing our own food we are occupied with crafts and all kind of dealings with the farmstead. We've been teaching different crafts in workshops for years (e.g. wood crafts, pottery, glass, metal). We study and revive old crafts and other skills. We really appreciate traditional folk music, dance, culture.

    Our mother tongue is Estonian. Andres speaks Russian fluently, a little English, understands a bit German. Imbi speaks English fluently, a little Russian, understands very little German.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about Estonian culture, nature, living in the countryside, native crafts. We can teach you some basics in wood and birchbark crafts (e.g. carving a spoon, weaving a salt cellar).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for short term volunteers and for long term volunteers (preferably a couple because our neighbour can offer one room for long term volunteers). One long term volunteer would be helping mainly Andres (e.g. with building projects, chopping wood, harvesting materials for crafts) and the other would be helping Imbi (e.g. gardening, cooking, housework).

    You might like being a volunteer with us if you want to try living a simple life in the countryside, if you like to work individually and with the family or other volunteers.

    Bigger projects:
    building traditional lath fence
    building a little guesthouse by permaculture principles (probably not this year anymore)
    insulating the main house
    starting with a new permaculture field
    new compost toilet

    Smaller projects:
    chopping, collecting and stacking firewood, harvesting natural materials for crafts, harvesting berries and mushrooms, canning food, smaller repair and building projects

    Daily tasks:
    taking care of animals, gardening, housework, cooking.

    Actually the list is endless when living in the countryside.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Estonian, English, Russian, wish to learn German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Water comes from a well. Dry toilet outside. Washing in sauna.

    Long term volunteer/volunteers(if a couple) have a private room in neighbour's house with their own entrance.

    Short term volunteer/volunteers can stay above our workshop.

    The meals can be arranged together (NB! we are not vegans and the food we buy is not yet 100% ecologically grown)

    Wifi in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fishing, hiking, horse riding lessons, taking part in local social events, swimming in lakes/rivers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Waiting for volunteers...
Välk the friendliest cat, Andres, Imbi and Berry the dog
The end of May 2018. We have very little flowers in our garden. If you have good eye you can help us decide where and what kind of plant should be planted in the future.
Road to our home on a cold autumn morning
There's a lot going on in our yard in autumn 2018
Our vegetable garden in autumn 2015
Our vegetable garden in autumn 2017
Andres with his art project for an exhibition Ajatus (Timeless - an exhibition of inherited patterns and rhytms).
New life
Curious cats Käbi and Käblik
View from our property. There are our neighbour's horses at the moment.
About 1 km towards the river you can befriend our friend's cattle
View from the observation tower about 3.5 km from our place (Tellingumäe vaatetorn)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









Host ref number: 885753611638