Help on a smallholding in beautiful Co. Leitrim, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In a beautiful part of Ireland we have a 16 acre smallholding with veg garden,poly tunnels, medicinal herbs, woodland and animals. Donkeys, dogs, cats. We need general help around the land, gardeners and people with carpentry skills In exchange we provide experience of low impact living(we are working towards off grid), good wholefood vegan/vegetarian food and an opportunity to create and be creative. Also if you'd like to learn more about vegan nutrition and like to help in the kitchen here's opportunity. You need to be hardy, able to cope with minimal modern conveniences and be independent spirited. Probably suit people travelling together.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to experience time without all life's modern conveniences and experience the peace of rural surroundings this could be the place for you. Most of our visitors leave with a greater sense of appreciation for things we tend to take for granted.

  • Help

    Help

    At the end of August/beginning of September we will be picking apples and pressing them for juice and making apple cider vinegar, which always needs extra hands and is a fun time. Might suit someone who also likes making and preparing food for freezer, fermented pickles, and general processing from garden harvest(All vegan, but willing to teach). Gardeners and general helpers willing to help with whatever needs doing most urgently. If you have creative flair, we also sometimes have some artistic projects going on. We are looking for independent individuals who like to cook for themselves if necessary in evenings.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan with woodburner(you will have to light you own fire), compost toilets, camp style kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are mountains to climb,lakes to swim in, scenic cycling, the coast is only 20km away and in some areas people surf. The local town is 4km away with various shops a library with free internet, pubs, a small entertainment venue, a sculpture centre with a thriving artist community . Volunteers will be expected to have their own health insurance. We have minimal mod cons and compost loos. Internet access is limited, and only if you have your own device. MUST LIKE AND BE COMFORTABLE WITH LARGE ENERGETIC DOGS.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 884758319597