Join us for general land mantainance at our home Cortijo Amanecer in the Alpujarra mountains, Spain

  • Favourited 155 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jan 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello! We are Angela and Michiel, we live in the nature, in the beautiful mountains of the Alpujarras, Sierra Nevada.

    We are located at 1500 m2 altitude, with several beautiful towns nearby, which are quite known for their beauty and authenticity in the region.
    Literally on the feet of the Natural Park of Sierra Nevada with beautiful hiking paths, mountain bike paths, waterfalls, paths along the small rivers called ''Acequias'' which is the most ancient watering system, heritage of the Arabs.
    It is important that you like to be in the nature, and that you like to spend time alone, or in silence. Nevertheless many social life is occurring in the neighborhood.
    With a car, life is much easier here. If you want to come with your own camper, it is also possible.

    We ask for a minimum of 2 weeks, and if we like each other, it is possible to stay longer. Couples or 2 people who can share the bed, are very welcome.

    IMPORTANT: no dogs allowed. We have 3 cats and like to respect their territory and tranquility.

    Together we speak fluent English, Spanish, French and Dutch.

    Looking forward to welcome you to our home.

    Let us know when you have doubts or other questions.


    ¡Hola! Somos Angela y Michiel, vivimos en la naturaleza, en las hermosas montañas de las Alpujarras, Sierra Nevada.

    Estamos ubicados a 1500 m2 de altitud, con varios pueblos hermosos cercanos, bastante conocidos por su belleza y autenticidad en la región.
    Literalmente a los pies del Parque Natural de Sierra Nevada con hermosas rutas de senderismo, rutas de bicicleta de montaña, cascadas, senderos a lo largo de los pequeños ríos llamados ''Acequias'' que es el sistema de riego más antiguo, herencia de los árabes.
    Es importante que te guste estar en la naturaleza y que te guste pasar tiempo solo o en silencio. Sin embargo, en el barrio se desarrolla mucha vida social.
    Con un coche, la vida aquí es mucho más fácil. Si quieres o queréis venir con vuestra propia caravana también es posible.

    Pedimos un mínimo de 2 semanas, y si nos gustamos es posible quedarse más tiempo. Si sois una pareja o 2 personas que pueden compartir cama, sois muy bienvenidos también.

    IMPORTANTE: no se permiten perros. Tenemos 3 gatos y nos gusta respetar su territorio y su tranquilidad.

    Juntos hablamos con fluidez inglés, español, francés y holandés.

    Esperamos darte(os) la bienvenida a nuestra casa pronto.

    Escríbenos si tienes cualquier duda o pregunta.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are several neighbors and we co-live in respect for each other and nature, therefore tranquility, independency, DIY knowing how to be on your own and to share as well, and self initiative is important. We all like to play music, respecting the times of others, sports-yoga and meditation.

    Somos varios vecinos y convivimos respetando el respeto a los demás y a la naturaleza, por eso es importante la tranquilidad, la independencia, el bricolaje, el saber estar solo y también compartir, y la iniciativa propia. Nos gusta reír, conversar, tocar música, respetar los tiempos de los demás, el deporte, yoga y la meditación.

  • Help


    We have a land to take care of and we need help for some tasks and projects such as pruning, painting with linseed oil, cracking almonds (we have a good machine for it), some gardening...

    Tenemos un terreno que cuidar y necesitamos ayuda para algunas tareas y proyectos como podas, pintar con aceite de linaza, cascar almendras (tenemos una buena máquina para ello), algo de jardinería, cuidar de los gatitos si no estamos...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Español y Holandés

  • Accommodation


    We offer stay at a completely independent apartment, with a small kitchen, bed of 1,40 x 2m, bathroom, stove, fridge and washing machine for your comfort during the stay.
    We provide vegetarian ingredients, for you to make delicious dishes with (yes, we expect you to be independent for your cooking although we hope to share meals sometimes together too!).
    There is no Wifi available, but you have good 4G cover for most providers.
    Please, o smoking allowed inside the apartment and we expect you to keep it clean. Thanks.

    Ofrecemos estancia en un apartamento completamente independiente, con pequeña cocina, cama de 1,40 x 2m, baño, cocina, frigorífico y lavadora para tu comodidad durante la estancia.
    Proporcionamos ingredientes vegetarianos para que puedas preparar platos deliciosos (sí, esperamos que seas independiente en tu cocina, ¡aunque a veces también esperamos compartir comidas juntos!).
    No hay Wifi disponible, pero tienes buena cobertura 4G para la mayoría de los proveedores.
    Está prohibido fumar dentro del apartamento y es pedimos por favor que se mantenga limpio. Gracias.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, you can do high mountain routes, visit the white villages of the Alpujarra, go to the beach (1 hour), meet people with interesting projects, visit the nearby meditation centers (O Seling and Jikoan) play music, bike routes, and many other things according to your initiative and desire!

    En vuestro tiempo libre, podéis hacer rutas de alta montaña, visitar los pueblos blancos de la Alpujarra, ir a la playa (a 1hora), conocer gente con proyectos interesantes, visitar los centros de meditación cercanos (O Seling y Jikoan) tocar música, rutas en bici, y muchas otras cosas según tu iniciativa y tus ganas!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Tenemos espacio suficiente para una furgoneta o caravana. Consúltanos.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Entre 3 y 4 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 879925725166

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)