A story teller (Film-maker and Writer) from Nairobi Kenya.

Country

Kenya

updated  

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    846

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a Kenyan. I graduated and is now a masters in Film Studies. I have a background in Literature (a degree in English and literature). I write literature (I have three eBooks out on Smashwords and a paperback on Amazon) and scripts. Am a start-up so everything is raw, I refine my craft everyday I live.

    I also recently started making short films. I call this project The 20-Film Portfolio. I have two shorts online, these are Kikulacho and Knightly. Am currently shooting my third Spirit. I'm in the process of building a loyal following to my brand. Truth be told I'm slowly but surely making my way on through the industry and loving every day in the industry.
    Guests are likely to participate in the making of the latest film project - come join us,😉. (You will be credited for your role....). Also I would love a guest who can edit. That would be amazing. Recently started editing, it's a little harder than I thought but am getting there. Mentors be welcome.

    In terms of hobbies I like to sew, I make bags for fun and sell them when they gain interest, thus make some coin (Good for independent film maker 😀). I also draw. About a year ago I developed an interest in digital drawing and am slowly self-teaching in the art. I drew all my book covers.

    I'm hoping for a creative guest with proficiency in film, writing and/or the arts. I'm hoping for a wholesome human with kindness and thrive... someone akin to my interests and who is open to the reality of Afrika-Kenya. Synergy may mean we take Kenya by storm, make some films and art.

    A little more about me, I love books, film and art. Music too. I watch Japanese Anime. I like to explore different cultural aspects of humans. It helps with my writing.

    Fun fact, I cook awesome African food and come from a welcoming family. My sister owns an African restaurant so if u get tired of home cooked, we could always hit that up. (The price is pretty good I assure you if you compare with home.) We are from western Kenya and are pretty cultural people. I drink but do not smoke. I dance and love to sing... Disclaimer; shower and chore doing singer I may not be as good as I think I am. 😬
    I live in the outskirts of Nairobi in our family home in a place called Kasarani Mwiki. Its a spacious house with about two or one occupants at a time so there is a lot of room for you 😁. Ample parking in case you want to rent a car and a home garden with just fruit trees. 😊
    I will show you my Kenya and hope to make a friend for life.
    Karibu Sana- You are very welcome.
    Sandra

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Kenya is a county with a metropolitan setup. Here we host people from all over the works. Apart from having 44 different tribes, with different sub-tribes that have diverse cultures, we have also personified foreign influence in many ways. Come see how...
    I promise you diversity. From traditional Kenyan culture to contemporary Kenya culture. You will see how the people of Kenya are and how they make Kenya an interesting place to be.
    We are lucky to still have our history in terms of architecture and culture still present. We have cultural setups and festivals that remind us of that. You will experience authentic Kenyan music in its raw form. Sleep in a hut and eat Kenya delicacies. I will teach you Swahili and my mother-tongue Luhya. I wanna learn Korean and practice Japanese 😁.ĺ
    Popular culture in Kenya is also very interesting. We will explore that too.
    I almost forgot... Safari!!!! We can go on safari!!!! Show you what nature gave us. From the mountains, to the valleys, to the ocean... To the caves and lakes. And the animals 😍.

  • Help

    Help

    Am looking for a filmmaker with their own equipment. An individual with mentoring capability and an interest in mutually exclusive partnerships. Am still new in the film industry so I have a lot to learn. I need someone who is willing to help me grow.
    I recently picked up digital drawing/painting - July 2017, Still a novice but slowly getting better.

    I have a passion for writing and would not mind a literature expert who can help me launch my writing career. As mentioned earlier I have three eBooks on Smashwords. I have a paperback on Amazon. I have an evergrowing collection of literature so the pot ain't running dry any time soon. My hope is to define myself as a contemporary Kenyan Writer. Can you help me get there, maybe sign with a publishing house? My prayer is one day these books will be translated into films. That would be amazing.

    I spend a lot of time working on my film, writing. When cooking off I sew and draw, sing and dance. I would appreciate a guest who can help me grown these areas of interest... That would be lovely.

    Am a graduating this month, I work a lot with undergraduate students so sometimes we could do mentorships at the local universities.

    I look forward to fruitful interactions in shared culture and traditions.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swahili, luhya and a little Kikuyu and a little Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay at my home. It's a four-bedroom house. Living space, dining room kitchen, store. Three bath and shower... Only one has hot water though (If you can fix stuff like that even better!). You will have your own room. Hot water is available. Wi-Fi too. We have solar backup lighting in case the lights go away. Ample parking and a fruit tree garden (Avocado, pawpaw, and lemons) Avocados loading 😉.

    If/When we go to my ancestral home, we may share rooms. But you will be availed your own bed.

    Food will be provided; Basic African food. Cooking may involve you (Cultural exchange and all) We could eat out and make western meals sometimes but nothing too fancy (Mainstream work loading 😁). Sometimes, you may need to chip in. The diet is humbly middle-class, I hope you will enjoy it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So you can use a taxi to get about. We have taxi guys you can use who we trust. Or you could use my brother's car if you wish for us to join in on the adventure.
    Public transport in Nairobi and beyond is pretty reliable. For a comfortable fee you can hail a matatu- bus/van and go where you need to. We also have a train that goes in the morning to the CBD and comes back in the evening.
    Even better, you could walk. See more this way.

    We do not own a washing machine and do not plan on getting one. You may want to clean up after yourself. At a fee though you can get your laundry washed by laundry ladies, the laundrymat or join me on the weekly endeavour of washing clothes. Unless you don't wish to. You don't have to. Just be reasonable and do not expect the Hilton.

    Be responsible, you will be in a foreign country after all. Take care of yourself. No bringing strangers home. It's hard to because you will meet so many people out here. Handle such matters of satisfaction with respect for your host and ultimately, yourself. I will do the same.

    The area we live in not a suburb. Though it may have started as so. Google and see where am talking about. Kasarani Mwiki. It's lower middle-class. Comfortable but still within the hustle and bustle of the common Kenyan life. I assure you a truly memorable experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Visiting my village in Western Kenya.







Host ref number: 879567648736