Peaceful place in wine and agriculture region near Bordeaux, France

  • France
  • Favourited 27 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hey !
    Paul and Lauralie here !
    We live in a big big house in the countryside close to Bordeaux. We have too many rooms for just the two of us and would love to host like minded people to share it with.
    Paul has been volunteering for almost 10 years now, and still does, mostly in the winter when he migrates to southern spain to catch some sun =). Lauralie doesn't have that much experience with volunteering but she's super excited to host people here !
    Lauralie (30) has a small organic grocery store with zero waste knid of things. She also sales smoothies and fresh juice fruits. She loves yoga, india and macrame. And India. She loves India.
    Paul (32) studies professional coaching. He runs a marketing business in the music industry and a youtube meditation channel and does massage at home. (yes there is a massage room in the house). He loves music, meditation, gardening.
    We both enjoy sharing moments with people from different places and backgrounds. (and many things that we didn't mention here, like food =D ).
    Lauralie works almost everyday in the summer, so she's not much at home.
    Paul works from home most of the time so he's here more often, although he travels quite often to Bordeaux for 1 to 3 days. So you might have some days alone at the house, unless you do something else on these days.

    The House
    It's a big old house with a nice piece of land to take care of, plus a small organic veggie garden. It's a bit lost in the country (car recommended) with friendly neighbors.

    What we propose
    Help is 4-5 hours 5 days per week. It's best suited to autonomous people as you might do stuff on your own sometimes.
    Usually you would eat with us for lunch. Idealy, diner would be shared at least one meal per week, although it will depend on how everyone feels on the moment. As much as we like spending time with others, we also like our privacy and own space. And we respect it from others as well.
    We feed you 3 meals per day. Most of the time, meals are vegeterian, if you want meat everyday you will have to buy and cook it for yourself.
    We're mostly looking for people to help us with house management and general maintenance in and outside the house.

    Who we are looking for
    As said before, we love sharing with conscious and good vibes people. Respect and tolerance come first. Respect for the planet and open mindness are required to come share this place. We would prefer people to stay at least one week and up to 6 weeks. Although it depends on how it goes for everyone.
    Remote working people will find high speed connection, artsy people can find some room to express themself, sport people will find lot of space to practice, readers will find books and quiet space, and people who just enjoy doing nothing in their spare time will find peace.

    Looking forward to hear from you soon !
    Paul & Lily

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although we love to speak english, we can speak french if you want to learn. We will share recepies, french culture, you can visit places around (see Monteton, Eymet, Duras very close by). Countryside lifestyle and peaceful place to stay. We would love to exchange about philosophy, yoga, food, permaculture, universe, personal development and more.

  • Help


    Cooking for everyone
    Cleaning house
    mowing - gardening - growing mushrooms (oyster mushrooms)
    Renovating the house
    Decoration if you're an artsy person
    All activities are optional. We discuss what need to be done when you arrive and you choose what you like to do best. The only thing we ask is that you participate in making the house a better place and help us in everyday life as summer is usually a busy moment for us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love to speak english and would like to improve. Paul would also like to improve his spanish and likes to learn common expressions in any language.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in the house with private bathroom if you're alone or shared if there's other volunteers or friends when you come. 1 room has a single bed, the other room a double bed. Maximum 3 volunteers at the same time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No public transport to the house. You can bike or hitch hike but having a car woud definitely help you if you want to move around.
    What's around
    There's forest and grasslands where you can wlak, run, bike, chill...
    There's fiber wifi in the house now (youhou!)
    Historical villages and castels from 5 km away
    Wine makers everywhere
    Paul is also volunteering in a cafe that's open 2 days a week and where you can go for drinks and meeting with young locals. They organize concerts at least once a month.
    Bordeaux is 90 minutes drive, Toulouse 2H drive. Atlantic coast is 2H drive (probably more in july-august)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 873456985617



Help with children and animals for a non-profit association in Saint Privat des Prés, France
Help us get ready for a community festival in Cathar country, the Pyrenees, France