Enjoy life in rural Ireland while helping at our family property

Country

Ireland

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three children, 16 year old Daniel, 14 year old Josie and 12 year old Thady, and myself Cathy, the mum. We live on a 15 acre farm right down to the sea on the beautiful rugged, isolated Beara peninsula, two hours. by bus from Cork City. I have the children half of the time and I'm an artist setting up artist's residential studios and workshops. I want to revitalise two studio buildings. I am often away to college in Cork, one or two days a week. We have dogs and horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about rural Ireland, setting up an artist's studios, caring for animals, horse riding, eat good vegetarian food, socialising with young Irish teenagers, practising English and having a great space to stay. As an artist I can cater and accommodate for their own projects. They will be in a landscape where there is amazing scenery to explore by hiking or biking. Nearby towns and villages are accessible by bus.

  • Help

    Help

    I expect practical, independent and motivated physically able, responsible and fun-loving . I'll be wanting painting and refurbishing farm buildings to studio spaces and preparing spaces for art projects, getting studios ready of artist's residencies. People with carpentry, painting, gardening experience are welcome and so is anybody willing to learn. An interest in making and creating through artistic practice is a plus.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Irish, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is independent accommodation available (when not in use) and there are bedrooms inside the house for when guests are in the studios. As the children are here only half the time, the house oscillates between full and chaotic and empty and calm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are wonderful local natural history sites, stone circles, standing stones and views of the Skellig Islands. There's a vibrant, friendly local fishing and farming community with artists and eco-and alternative minded people around. Kenmare, Bantry and Cork are only a bus drive away with many locals happy to offer lifts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 868145934167