Help make an alternative community in Valencia

Country

Spain

Favourited 359 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/03/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    375

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody!

    My name is Lee (44), originally I'm from Scotland, now making my dream happen in Spain. I would like to invite you to share it.

    I have purchased a small plot (3000 square meters) where I'm setting up a self grow and small holding. I hope to have some chickens and stuff and be self sufficient in the near future. Currently I need some help in cultivating the land and building kennels for locally abandoned dogs. I'm hoping to live there full time in the coming year.

    I am a teacher and have an academy here so work a lot. I am looking for one person who would consider a long term stay and would basically be responsible for the project. I am a hard working gay guy who is passionate about this lifestyle and you should be at easy with me being gay and though being gay is not a prerequisite no hang ups is. I am looking for an easy going person.

    The academy has all mod cons, internet washing machine showers and the like so its not a complete disaster. I might be able to offer you some work teaching which will supplement your stay.

    the land has been abandoned for some months and it really is a fresh canvas. If you are up for an adventure and have no plans for the future you are exactly what I am looking for.

    Lets chew the fat and see if our ideas are comparable..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    At the moment I need some help in cultivating the land, building kennels for abondoned dogs, preparing the area, general maintenance, weeding, planting... If you know anything about organic farming or building, that's great, but experience or knowledge is not necessary. Bring an open mind and some enthusiasm! Share your ideas! Tell me what you can and like to do.

    I also run a language academy in the centre of Xativa and at times will require some assistance here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a couple of camp beds set up at the academy. There's a shower, washing machine, cooking facilities, A/C and internet access. As things progress it will also be possible to camp on my campo should you wish to do so.

    Lee

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in Xativa, 10 minutes from the train station. All the services of the town are close, but still far enough to have a peaceful surrounding.

    Xativa is located in the autonomous community of Valencia on the right bank of the River Albaida, about a 40 minute drive from the city of Valencia and a 30 minute drive inland from the coastal area of Gandia. You can also take a train from Valencia which also takes about 30 minutes.

    The town itself is delightful with its castle, charming boulevards and streets lined with lush trees providing a natural canopy for the numerous fashionable shops, cafes and bars.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week



Host ref number: 866412798415