Help with dog care and general maintainance on our small farm in the countryside Värmland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 517 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am 60years old and live together with my husband Håkan in the countryside on our small farm. We have a kennel and we breed samoyed dogs and for the moment there are 15 samoyeds in the kennel. In our farm are also 12 sheep and 31 alaskan husky. We both work as teachers. We both work full time. In our free time we take care of our dogs and train them.

    Our farm is in the countryside, there are woods all around our house with elk, wolves, deer, fox and some other smaller animals. One kilometer from our house there is a small lake where one can catch fish or go for a tour in our canoe. There are quite beatiful surroundings where one can go hiking.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The traveller would learn how to take care of sled dogs, learn about swedish culture and experience swedish wilderness.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening means moving the lawn and weeding. Animal care means helping with the care of our dogs both grown ups and puppies.

    The grown ups need to have a walk, to be combed, have a massage, to be fed and watered and the puppies need to be handled socialized, combed, fed watered and cuddled. If you are interested you might also help with the training of our sled dogs.

    Help in the house means making dinner sometimes, help to clean the house once a week. and general maintenance

    There are of course a lot of other things to do on our farm if you have the skills you can also for example help building dog houses, help finishing work on and inside the house, etc. It would also be a great advantage if you know how the shear sheep and could help us with this. There will also be some painting to do.

    As we breed samoyed dogs and work full time we need help if we have a litter during school term. The mother of the litter needs to be fed and walked and the puppy-box needs to be cleaned. Usually we know if we will need help or not at least around a month ahead.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The traveller will stay in a small guest room and share bathroom, livingroom and kitchen with me, and my husband.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The food we will provide is vegetarian.

    In free time the volunteer can go hiking, fishing or take a tour in our canoe. There is a bus stop 5 km from the house. With the bus one can go to Karlstad for a visit but the bus is quite expensive around 8Euros for a oneway ticket and the travel to Karlstad is 35 minutes.

    We like to live calm lifes with our dogs and to spend time in the nature. We love the silence and the stressless life with our dogs.

    I think the volunteer who stays with us should be interested in dogs otherwise the stay will be boring.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Håkan and our samoyed team on early morning training last autumn
Me and one of our oldest dogs 11 year old Sälka
the dogyards
our house
One of our samoyed females with her litter















Host ref number: 865314528523