Help me to live in a self-sufficient house while helping with daily tasks in Girona, Spain

  • Favourited 2087 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! :)

    I am Gerard, I am 31 years old, 9 years ago and after living many years with a lot of work in the city and in an egocentric, materialistic and competitive society, I decided to leave the stress and anxiety that the city generated in me and embark on a new path surrounded by people with a similar philosophy of life and with the purpose of creating a sustainable rural project with animals and wild nature :).

    We are a family of people who want to learn and live close to nature, with different rhythms of life and priorities than those of the city. We have built a sustainable and ecological farmhouse that works with local renewable energy.

    We are located in the middle of the forest. The farmhouse is located nearly Olot for 30 minutes from Gerona (Catalunya). We are surrounded by beautiful mountains, wild animals, rivers and roads.

    We collect the rainwater that we later use at home, we make electricity with solar panels and batteries, we purify the sewage using plants (phyto-purification) and we heat the water using firewood from our forest (sustainable logging management).

    The land has 60 hectares of forest and 15 hectares of cultivation. We have an edible forest of fruit trees, two ecological lakes (with aquatic plants and fish), an olive grove with regenerative grazing, a 2-hectare permaculture orchard, and composters. We also have a chicken coop, rabbits, and a flock of sheep that work with the technique of rotational grazing through the surrounding fields.

    Our space has an ecological and sustainable hotel that offers an experience of ecotourism and connection with nature to its visitors. The restaurant itself is supplied largely with the fruits and vegetables grown in our organic garden, offering a wide variety of healthy and personal preparation products: jams, pickles, sauerkraut, bread, seitan, liqueurs, cheeses, etc. Our kitchen is organic, with vegetarian and macrobiotic options.

    The hotel has staff that already works there, however, on various occasions tasks related to it are carried out, either in the restaurant kitchen or in the common areas of the hotel with activities related to general maintenance, cleaning and gardening. In any case, our working hours are focused on the care of the animals and the cleaning of their enclosures, and the work in the organic garden through the production of seasonal vegetables and the maintenance of the cultivation terraces.

    We are looking for people with concerns about life in the countryside, respecting nature, animals, the environment and taking care of people. We are a group of young people who want to learn and work while having a good time together with nature.

    AH! And all this always with good vibe, energy, lots of jokes and fun.

    IN LAK'ECH
    Cheers :)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ¡Hola! :)

    Soy Gerard, tengo 31 años, hace 9 años y después de vivir muchos años con mucho trabajo en la ciudad y en una sociedad egocéntrica, materialista y competitiva decidí dejar el estrés y ansiedad que me generaba la ciudad y emprender un nuevo camino rodeado de gente con una filosofía de vida similar y con el propósito de crear un proyecto rural sostenible con animales y naturaleza salvaje :).

    Somos una familia de gente con ganas de aprender y vivir cerca de la naturaleza, con unos ritmos de vida y unas prioridades diferentes a los de la ciudad.
    Hemos construido una masía sostenible y ecológica que funciona con energías renovables del lugar. Situada en Girona, Catalunya, en la preciosa Vall de Llémena (La Garrotxa).

    Recogemos el agua de lluvia que luego usamos en casa, la electricidad la hacemos con placas solares y baterías, depuramos las aguas negras mediante plantas (fitodepuración) y calentamos el agua mediante la leña de nuestro bosque (gestión de tala sostenible).

    El terreno tiene 60 hectáreas de bosque y 15 hectáreas de cultivo. Tenemos un bosque comestible de árboles frutales, dos lagos ecológicos (con plantas acuáticas y peces), un campo de olivos con pastoreo regenerativo, un huerto de permacultura de 2 hectáreas y compostadores. También contamos con un gallinero, conejos, y un rebaño de ovejas que trabajan con la técnica del pastoreo rotacional por los campos aledaños.

    Nuestro espacio cuenta con un hotel ecológico y sostenible que ofrece una experiencia de ecoturismo y conexión con la naturaleza a sus visitantes. El restaurante del mismo se provee en gran parte de los frutos y las hortalizas cultivadas en nuestro huerto ecológico, ofreciendo gran variedad de productos de elaboración personal y saludables: mermeladas, encurtidos, chucrut, pan, seitán, licores, quesos, etc. Nuestra cocina es ecológica, con opciones vegetarianas y macrobiótica.

    El hotel cuenta con personal que ya trabaja en él, sin embargo, en diversas oportunidades se realizan tareas vinculadas al mismo, ya sea dentro de la cocina del restaurante como en los espacios comunes del hotel con actividades referidas al mantenimiento general, limpieza y jardinería. De todas formas, nuestras horas de trabajo se centran en el cuidado de los animales y la limpieza de sus recintos, y el trabajo en la huerta ecológica mediante la producción de hortalizas de estación y el mantenimiento de los bancales de cultivo.

    Buscamos gente con inquietudes por la vida en el campo, respetando la naturaleza, los animales, el ambiente y cuidando a las personas. Somos un grupo de gente joven con ganas de aprender y trabajar pasándolo bien junto a la naturaleza.

    ¡AH! Y todo esto siempre con buena vibración, energía, bromas y pasándolo bien.

    IN LAK'ECH

    Un fuerte abrazo :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The project is based on the principles of permaculture with the purpose of living respecting natural resources on the planet. You'll learn gardening techniques and get to know how a self-sufficient house works with renewable energies (mills, solar panels, wood heating...). We use a sewage treatment plant cleaning by lakes with aquatic plants, bioconstruction work with straw and clay, horticultural cultivation through permaculture, homemade autoproductions of honey, cheese, jams, olives, bread, sauerkraut, pasta ...

    You'll also have the opportunity to learn languages since at home we speak English, Spanish, Catalan and French daily.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    El proyecto está basado en los principios de la permacultura con el objetivo de vivir respetando los recursos naturales del planeta. Aprenderás técnicas de jardinería y podrás ver cómo funciona una casa auto-suficiente con energías renovables (molinos, placas solares, calefacción de leña etc.) y con una depuradora de limpieza mediante lagos con plantas acuáticas, trabajos de bioconstrucción con paja y arcilla, cultivo de hortícolas, autoproducciones caseras de miel, queso, mermeladas, aceitunas, pan, chucrut, pasta...

    También tendrás la oportunidad de aprender idiomas ya que en la casa hablamos diariamente inglés, español, francés y catalán.

    Vivir una vida tranquila rodeado de animales y naturaleza salvaje.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The usual jobs consist of: caring for the animals and cleaning their enclosures; work in the organic garden planting and caring for seasonal vegetables; perform various gardening and general maintenance tasks, such as painting; tasks within the hotel restaurant related to the preparation of certain recipes and collaboration with order and cleanliness; make firewood from the forest for our biomass boiler.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Los trabajos habituales consisten en: cuidar a los animales y limpiar sus recintos; trabajar en el huerto ecológico plantando y cuidado las hortalizas de estación; realizar diversas tareas de jardinería y mantenimiento general, como pintar; tareas dentro del restaurante del hotel vinculadas a la preparación de ciertas recetas y colaboración con el orden y la limpieza; hacer leña del bosque para nuestra caldera de biomasa.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room for 6 people with sheets, internet, kitchen and bathroom. Ecological food and km. 0.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Habitación para 6 personas con sábanas, internet, cocina y baño. Comida ecológica y de km. 0.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Normal internet Connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 864833776144

Feedback (21)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.8)


























Sunny and organic life on a farm in Jete, Andalusia, Spain
Benefit from living with a open minded family, sharing daily experiences near Madrid, Spain