Help with painting and decorating a townhouse in the beautiful city of Angoulême, France

Country

France

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family with a townhouse in the centre of the wonderful city of Angoulême, South West France. We spend some time in the city, but you may be there on your own for some of the time, so this would perhaps suit a couple or a family looking for accommodation, and the freedom to explore this lovely city for a while. The house needs a fresh lick of paint inside, a bit of gardening outside and some general maintenance. If non of us are around, you'd provide your own food, and we could figure out the hours on that basis. So the way I see this working is: You'd do a few hours (3 to 5) of painting in the morning, and you'd spend the rest of the day however you please: checking out the city's museums, heading out to the surrounding countryside, or visiting Bordeaux 30 mins away by train. If we are elsewhere when you are there, we could be in daily contact over skype/slack/etc. to help with any questions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Angoulême is a fabulous city to spend time in. The house is <5 minutes walk from the centre - with great cafes restaurants and bars etc. Angoulême is famous for its history and links with Bande Dessinée and there is an international festival of the Comic Strip each year. You can spot famous comic characters all around town.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is in pretty good order but it needs a fresh coat of paint and some general maintenance. The garden needs tidying up too. If you have experience doing simple building projects, let us know. You'll have a bit of ingenuity, initiative and maturity, and in return you'll be able to stay for free in a cool city.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 3/4 double bedrooms for your use in the house - take your pick or if you're a family, use them all!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Angoulême is really well connected to the rest of France via the new, fast (and cheap) TGV line. Bordeaux and Poitiers are both just 35 mins away - within easy reach for an afternoon trip. The train station is about 1km from the house, so is very walkable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 863289316132