Learn about hand till Organic Agriculture on a small Organic farm in Oregon, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 449 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    632

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are open for farm stays through mid November. We love to cook and offer excellent meals. We also offer a beautiful place to camp. Let us know:

    When you are available to come
    How long you would like to stay
    How you are traveling.
    As well as a bit why you would like to visit our farm in particular.


    Our farm began about 19 years ago and has been slowly growing each year. We are a market farm and primarily grow berries, garlic, market veggies, flowers, herbs and apples. We make many different farm direct products through out the year such as jams, salsas, teas, pickled vegetables, raspberry port and apple cider.

    We are an all hand tool operation, and boots are required for tilling. We are Certified Organic through Oregon Tilth and during our busy season do three markets a week.

    Work on our farm is safe and healthy. You will learn many skills here depending on the season. There's lots to do from Spring to Fall. We love weeders, sowers, tillers, pickers, compost turners and more. If there is something in particular you would like to learn, just let us know.

    We also have some other projects we work on as well. We keep a couple bee hives. We are also finishing construction on our straw bail house.

    We eat well, and there is always plenty. We share our meals on work days and like to eat all organic foods including: beans, whole grains, tortillas, bread, fruit and veggies from the garden, eggs and meat. We make canned goods throughout the year and do lacto-fermented-crock pickling all summer long. As you can see from our comments helpers like our food.

    Boots, a good tent, and work clothes are needed. Also bring a hat and light colored 100% cotton long-sleeves with pants to keep your skin protected in the sun. (See Photos)

    We offer rustic accommodations which sits along the creek that runs through our land. Camping is nice there and we have a small helpers shack which is first come first serve. We ave a solar bath house to clean up in, and composting toilet for our helpers to use. Please bring non synthetic, non scented and biodegradable soaps as well as your own towels. Come prepared with a tent, gear and clothes that will keep you comfortable in the outdoors. On days off you will be on your own but we will leave food out for you to eat. :) There is a well stocked refrigerator and out door kitchen.

    We have a strong allergic reaction to synthetic perfumes, soaps and body sprays. Please refrain from using them while here.

    My brother is fluent in German and speaks some Spanish. I speak a little Italian and a little Spanish. My wife speaks spanish well.

    Spring and summer here are excellent for wild-crafting. Chanterelle season starts after Sept 21. Spring is a great time for morel mushrooms. There is also great fishing, swimming, and hiking near by.

    We do consider full season helpers if they have previous experience farming, have a car and can be independent. We would love to host someone long term if they were interested in becoming a farmer one day. We usually start with a 1-2 week trial to see if it is a good match. Our average stay is 4-6 weeks.

    We are open to hosting helpers with pets who are fixed, well behaved and up to date on shots. Pet owners need to make sure their pets don't eat compost or dig in the beds. Also poop can be an issue in common places, so picking up it up is a requirement. We also recommend you treat your dogs with a tick treatment. Pets are not allowed in the house.

    We are located in a beautiful area for hiking, biking wildcrafting, swimming, and amazing natural beauty. There is lots of biodiversity here. Many places are easily accessed by car or a healthy bike ride. We have a bike to use or bring your own. You will have 3 days off a week to explore so get out! It is beautiful out there! We have maps and other information available for those who like to take a few day trips.

    Best dates to visit are April-October.

    We are LGBTQ friendly and pro immigrant. No room for hate at our farm.

    We do not have wi-fi. But you can connect to wifi in Prospect at the library or local pizza joint.

    You will have weekends off and Tuesdays off.

    A car is handy to have in this rural spot but not neccesary if you are up for making friends and a little adventure.

    Bikes are available for use.

    Please arrive Wednesday or Thursday if you are driving (Wednesday is taco night!)

    Tuesday evening and Wednesday mornings/early afternoons work if we need to pick you up. Medford is the nearest airport and bus station.

    A single person or a couple would be ideal.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On our farm you will learn the basics of having your own garden. We are certified organic and sell our produce at markets. We are also canning through out the year and have fermentation projects going too. Our farm is a good place to gain experience to feel confident to start up your own projects, or simply learn more about organic farming.

  • Help

    Help

    The work varies depending on the season. We need seeders, pickers, tillers and compost turners.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Mostly camping, small structure when available

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located at the gateway to national parks and forests. If you like exploring and have your own car the possibilities are vast. There is lots of hiking, swimming and wildcrafting in the area.

    We are in a remote area so having a car is handy, although not totally necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 days a week. Around 6-7 hours a day- max 25-30 hours/week








Host ref number: 863183166282