Help out on a farm in the Countryside of Alberta

Country

Canada

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I, Daniel, am a young organic farmer. I grow many herbs and vegetables and raise chickens, ducks, geese, goats & sheep on a beautiful 40 acre property in central Alberta. I live with two cats and have two very friendly outside dogs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    We're going to be entering our spring season soon, so we'll have lots of spring work around the farm including:

    repairing fences, starting greenhouse plants, working up the veggie fields, and cleaning up around the farm.

    Weather can be pretty changeable here in Alberta, be prepared for just about anything! We do have extra muckboots, jackets etc on hand!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two spare rooms in the house available spring, summer and a fall, an outdoor camper in the summer and one small, rustic cabin in the summer. Meals in the farm house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Come and learn about organic farming in a northern climate. I am an easy-going young farmer and will try to provide you with a fun farm experience. In the summertime we sometimes have a campfire in the evenings to relax. We really enjoy food (growing it and eating it!) and always eat together.

    We do weekly trips into town where you are welcome to come along (tuesday and thursday evenings). We are about a 10 minute drive away from a small provincial park where you can go swimming in the river or for a picnic. We are also a 25 minute drive to Red Deer & a 15 minute drive to Olds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5days a week












Host ref number: 862677723399