Experience three countries while contributing to the restoration of an old town house in Lorraine, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Nordic family of three humans and a charmingly social Devon Rex cat. A few years ago we bought a large house in a tiny village in France, in the heart of Europe; we are from the “Land of the Three Borders”, where Luxembourg, Germany and France meet. As is the location of our house, our home is a melting pot; a mixture of cultures and languages. We speak three languages and are excited about DIY projects, renovation and gardening. After hard work, we enjoy delicious food, wine, music and friends! We would love to welcome pro-active guests who enjoy doing crafts, renovation projects and/or cooking in a rural and calm environment surrounded by fields, farm animals and children in the middle of nowhere, yet right in the middle of the Old Continent.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beside the multiple tasks to select from around the house, you get to choose every day which country you would like to visit next! On Monday you can visit beautiful Luxembourg and its vineyards, Tuesday calls you to take a bike ride to Germany and enjoy the scenery of the river Saar, on Wednesday you can wonder around the ancient castles of the Lorraine region of France. If you had enough of the countryside for the week, the weekend takes you on a train to Strasbourg, Frankfurt, Brussels or Paris to explore the streets of the historic European cities. We guarantee that you get to learn about the exciting history of the Greater Region and the renovation of an old French “Maison de Maitre” (built in 1860) as well as about Nordic and French culture, habits and language.

  • Help

    Help

    We have quite a large choice to choose from depending on your interests and the season. Throughout the year we have renovation and DIY projects in the house and from early March to October we need help outside around the garden (fruit trees, vegetables, berries and flowers). If you are handy with a drill and a hammer, or if you enjoy digging the earth and pruning plants or if you simply love spreading joy around you by cooking delicious meals, you are the right workawayer to join our club! You do not need to be a pro; it’s enough to have a curious mind and a willingness to learn, the rest will surely follow!

    We expect you to work 5 hours/day and 5 days/week. We are rather flexible with your working time. For guests willing to contribute to renovation/DIY projects (drywalling, bathroom renovation, restoring old furniture etc.) the working hours can be completed any day between 8am to 7pm. Quests with a willingness to contribute to cooking and other house chores, we expect you to contribute at least for the dinner time (we have a rotating schedule for dinner preparation) taking place from Monday to Friday at 7-7:30 pm. Other house chores (cleaning, recycling, maintaining the fireplaces during winter etc.) can be completed flexibly. Come along and give a hand to the make-over of an old town house!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big house with a living room (with gym equipment), library room, dining room (dining space for 6-8 people) and a large kitchen as well as a laundry facility and an atelier for DIY work. Upstairs of the house includes 5 bedrooms out of which currently 2 (blue room and red room, approx. 20m2 each) can accommodate guests (two beds in each). Currently we have two shared toilets and a bathroom. The house has internet/wifi access. The village offers a typical French bakery (200m), two hairdressers (100-300m), a beauty salon (50m) and a doctors/nurse’s office (500m).
    We eat three meals per day; breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast and lunch are “self-service” and each household member eats these meals whenever they wish (we eat lunch usually around 12-13:30). At dinner we all gather together to enjoy a delicious meal every night around 7-7:30 pm and to exchange in a cosy and relaxing atmosphere. We eat almost everything and are open to all new foods and dishes!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are new to the workaway platform and we are not experienced workaway hosts, so we would kindly ask for your patience while you get to teach us about being a good host. We love to hear stories from around the world and most importantly, we love to laugh and have fun. We also like to keep our place tidy for it to be enjoyable for all, acknowledging that the house is undergoing renovation and is not in a perfect condition all the time. We enjoy watching a good movie every now and then and our greatest pleasure is the pleasure of throwing parties for adults and children!
    Concerning mobility; the public transport options in the countryside is very limited with only a couple of busses per day to the closest French or German town. Within a bike (one bike available in the house) ride away in Germany (approx. 10km) you also have an option of taking the train or multiple different buses, and whenever possible, the hosts can also drive you to nearby public transportation. However, if you are travelling by car, Europe is your oyster! A tiny selection of things to do around the Greater Region (Luxembourg, France, Belgium, Germany):

    Shopping and leasure
    • Zweibrucken outlets (Germany)
    • Villeroy & Boch outlets (Germany)
    • Marques Avenue Thalange (France)
    • Cloche d’Or (Luxembourg)
    • Mondorf-les-Bains spa (Luxembourg)
    • Domaine de la Klauss spa and hotel (France)
    • Freibad Remich (Luxembourg)
    • Freibad Mertzig (Germany)
    Nature
    • Saarschleife (Germany)
    • Remerchen (Luxembourg)
    • Maison de la Nature Manderen (France)
    • Losheim am See (Germany)
    • Moselle/Saar riversides
    • Multiple hiking possibilities (Luxembourg, France, Germany)
    Culture and history
    • Villa Borg (Roman villa) (Germany)
    • Château des Ducs de Lorraine (France)
    • Château de Manderen
    • Ligne Maginot (France)
    • European Museum Schengen (Luxembourg)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a wifi, though the signal might be weak in some parts of the house (such as in the guest rooms and the library room). Working with internet is possible in the office room (still under construction), kitchen, dining room and terrace (during summer period).

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a one car spot behind the house that can fit a normal sized van (so a small camper van as well). Public parking places are available behind the house on the public street.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a cat that comes along pretty well with dogs, so small/medium sized dogs/cats are welcome under the condition that the owner takes care of their litter and their needs (food, equipment, walking etc.).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 857783846915