Learn about living off-grid and natural building materials in Lauco, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Angela, Gaia, our doggess Luz, Aeon and Nuni and two cats Lilith and Ulisse.
    We live in the middle of a wood 850 meters high and we take care of a little bit more of an hectar. Our house is an old barn that we renovated using only natural materials like clay, straw, sheep whool and lime. We did two mass heating stoves for cooking, heating the house and hot water.
    We are offgrid (photovoltaic panel and, when necessary, a generator). There are two composting toilet, one outdoor one indoor. The garden is organic.
    The workawayer will be hosted in a caravan in our property and will use the composting toilet outside. Tje shower is an outdoor sun shower.
    We sometimes co-operate with other farmers giving and sharing work and knowledge.
    We live at the end of an off-road, so if you are coming by car you'll live it in the village where we can pick you up with the pick-up :-). When you'll need to reach your car or the village you'll have a 20 minutes walk. There is no wi-fi.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Carnia (this region) is a mountain region, rich of possibility for walking in the Nature. You can visit museums (geological, etc) as like find local chees or shepard fairs.
    Angela is a teacher of natural building materials.
    We're training (we and our doggess) with the Civil Protection to rescue people that get lost in the wood, therefore, if you would like, you can come training with us and pretend you get lost and we'll come and search for you.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season, we work on the gardens: (seeding, weeding) we do hay or we chop the wood. We also keep on going with external renovation of the house, or work on the phytodepuration plant. Also we'll soon start a mushroom greenhouse.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We'll host the Workawayers in a caravan on our land with no running water. If you have a tent and you prefer you can camp with your tent. The accomodation is therefore a kind of camping site accomodation with outdoor composting toilet and an out shower. Please take with you your sleeping bag and towels. You'll have breakfast and dinner in the caravan, while in the sunny day we'll prepare lunch for the all of us and we'll eat together, in rainy days you'll eat in the caravan. One of us is vegetarian, the other meatetarian (lol) and we both like fish, if you have any food limitation please tell us, we love learning new ways to cook food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers in their time off can relax, walk in the wild nature or go cycling. Our place is one kilometer (20 minutes walking) from the closest village where is a bar. To reach us there are 500 mt offroad.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can possibly accept you with your pet, we just need to have a chat and try to see if they match with our pets ;-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 854636831923