Help us with outdoor work in our peaceful house in Swedens most beautiful nature

Country

Sweden

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our beautiful and quiet getaway, is a typical about 100 years old Swedish house in the middle of pure, absolutely beautiful and very typical Swedish nature - with a beautiful lake, woods, blueberries, wild flowers, long summer nights...

    The house is placed directly at a beautiful lake and surrounded be Swedish wood. The next neighbor is about 8 km away and the nearest small town is in 24 km distance.

    We don´t live here permanently yet and only use it as our vacation home but we are dreaming about spending more and more time here and later on maybe living here permanently.

    Our family consists of Ute (58 years, the head of the projet - the one with the good Ideas and a real craftswoman), Johannes ( 24 - if you are looking for him probably just follow your ears, he is the master of the heavy machines and techniques), Charlotte and Jakob (27+30, also very crafty, good at cooking...), Annmarie and Rasmus (29+30, good in everything practical, also great musicians), Frederike (31, likes also doing practical stuff and baking cakes), Tara 2 years old and Fjalla our dog. We will not be there all at once but you will definitely meet some of us if you come to join us in this little paradise :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested we would like to share our knowledge about wild plants and herbs, a healthy and sustainable lifestyle and a simple and self-sufficient life close to nature. You can also join us doing Yoga or Tai-Chi depending on who of us is around. Ute will be in charge of providing us with fresh,delicious, nourishing meals. Some of us are almost vegan, some are vegetarians - some not. So if you have any preferences or allergies we will take care of that - but please let us know. If the weather is up for it we will eat outside either on our terrace at the lake shore, next to the campfire or on the lake on our floating water terrace.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help will have something to do with wood. We are taking trees down to generate firewood and building logs but also to keep our space clear and sunny. At the moment we are building a little woodshed and the next planned project is a little traditional wooden cabin to create more sleeping spaces. But to realize that we need some helping hands!
    We are needing help both with taking trees down and helping us in the various steps of processing them until we get good building logs or firewood. There will also always be work with cutting small "leftover" branches.
    At the moment we are preparing a vegetable garden and need help to spread the soil around, to prepare vegetable beds. There will also be some work in the garden, cutting grass, maintaining the house etc.
    It would be great if you have some experience with wood-work or carpentering but that is not a requirement.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, english, danish, swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Different acomodation options. You are welcome to use our caravan which is located close to the house but still will provide you some privacy. There is a double bed, and a little "living room area" as well as a tiny bathroom. You are still welcome to use the other sanitary facilities of course.
    An other option is sleeping in a tent on one of the beautiful tent spaces on the property. Either bring your own or you can borrow one of ours. The bathroom and toilet are shared and are placed outside in a little extra house.
    As we are not connected to the urban sewage, electricity-net and water supply this resources are limited. We have solar panels - so it is possible to charge your phone, but fx a hairdryer won´t work. With a pump system we take the water from our lake for showering etc. but the drinking water will we collect in the nearest town. The toilet is a typical Swedish dry toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are up for it you can start the day with a morning swim in the lake. You can also take a canoe, kayak or SUP (stand up paddle board) to explore the beautiful surrounding from the water side. Or you can go walking, running or using a bike to get around, maybe picking berries or mushrooms, go fishing, sunbathing and so much more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 854529361929