Live and help on a Catamaran New Home Callo, Virginia near Washington DC and Chesapeake Bay


United States

Favourited 1231 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    Yes, it's a catamaran, at a dock, that has plenty of work to do. It's a boat that is used in many venues to teach and live aboard in three cabins and a trampoline to sleep on for those who wish the stars (with little light noise). I have been sailing for many years but NOW IN CHESAPEAKE BAY, Northern Neck of Virginia. There is always work and training to pass on about living on a boat. You will be amazed at the stories, as I will be also.

    You will go to sleep early and rise early as most boaters do. The heat of the day is for relaxing and touring as this is the life. My agreement with you is for the days you work 5-8 hours you will earn days to play. You may have many adventures in the area, to explore, and to have a great deal of fun. Work hard play hard is my motto. Once you meet the adventure you may think you have met possibly Huck Finn...With a Tom Sawyer Flare bring apples.. You decide!

    So my boat needs TLC, the area is full of adventure. Projects are easy and the setup is beds, feed yourself with galley and groceries nearby.
    When I come to the boat to help you get your plans together and project management you will then have a motivated privacy to accomplish your task. Then plan on learning to do some work and prep for sailing because anytime the "play" begins sailing the Chesapeake Bay is foremost the PLAN!

    Read further and it will say more. Then reach out and let’s start texting and communication of mutual plans.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Read my reviews and just get a glimpse of the excitement and value your time and energy can benefit what your time here can have. Keep Reading Below and find my keyword to be considered!!

  • Help


    My venue is to establish knowledgeable experiences in Life on a Boat. Responsibilities will vary as you can see by the references everybody learns something NEW. More important is what you will learn. expect time off like always as my theme is still work hard/play hard.

    There are always people who have difficulty taking on new challenges and if you are one then please continue your search. IF YOU DO NOT INTEND TO WORK HARD AND PLAY HARD KEEP LOOKING!!!!

    1. Cleaning, scrubbing, polishing, stainless as well as the white top outside sunlight work Also inside work throughout as it does rain
    2. Deep cleaning crevices, multiple inside jobs all cleaning related
    3. Wood Projects, building projects, organizing storage.
    4. You must have the attitude to work hard/play a hard-limited work time-frame for lots of learning and touring.
    5. Many projects that require labor, brains, technologies, electricians needed
    6. Scrubbing boat from the water up, polishing and buffing. Sometimes fiberglass work sanding and painting.

    REFERENCES: Some have none and this will be considered as we talk and I enjoy being your first reference as I have been many others' first experience. I like to give references and if you have good ones then that is easier to get my attention. I also insist that if you have a reference, from a host, but did not respond then please do so before contacting me. Compatibility is important! I look forward to writing your reference after we spend time together and then i will respond in kind.

    Your world can change with some of my contacts. You could end up sailing many areas of the World, meeting boaters and work sail to the Bahamas, and other points south.

    Due to health safety concerns, we will need to review your travel or sheltering in the last 3 months. I am near the Chesapeake Bay area so the sailing potential is great. I will only be accepting (1) workawayer or (1) couple, in a 2yr or greater relationship, till August and this will give you plenty to accomplish. Learning and living on my boat will give you plenty of great experience.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Sailing Catamaran with three staterooms with full-size double mattresses for (2). I only make available one room for workaway unless a special project requires more. Your luggage you will sleep with you as there is limited space.

    I have other paying guests, at times, through other venues, so my space most of the time is limited to 1-4 workawayers.

    I offer no food!!! We do have, on many occasions, a community food meal where you have the option to pitch in. There is plenty of refrigerator space grocery stores nearby and I always seem to have some extra food that needs to be eaten at times.

    It is a sleep/work and play/tour program. I will not work you every day back to back without a good day or two of play. Keep in mind I may ask you to extend your stay and offer you a longer time. It will be because I am impressed with your work ethic and personality or your past references are great.

    For the most part, I only make available one bed for workaway. I am however in special times will make other beds available as I have larger work plans.

    I have a Head and shower on-board (to be used at sea). There is a great bathhouse cooled in summer and heated in winter readily available and within 2 min walk. I have a full galley equipped and preparation, electric grill, Ninja Smoothie Mixer (oh yea) or grilling dock picnic area. Area info and transportation will be explained as you make your commitment.

    You may be the only workaway I have or there may be a group at different times of year and availability of skilled labor determines this. Additionally, we have made times to do a lengthy cruise from up or down the Atlantic Coast and the relationship is geared to make other times to sail a large plus.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Food: I provide housing and limited touring. I am not a restaurant or hotel so I do not provide food. There will be some appreciative community meals, and I will ask you to support in the food budget if needed. If you choose to feed yourself then you will have a place to keep food, and restaurants close by. I also go shopping for bulk food and if you contribute I will purchase to help you out.

    Lots of tourism and great local flavor and day or two-day tours.

    Imessage, cell, or What's app, are all ways I communicate with great local wifi. Buying a local sim card is easy to ask me what I have discovered.

    Additionally, there are some special sailing trips and adventures that we can discuss. You are getting the best of all worlds. If you mention the KEYWORD: "AUNT POLY" in the email to me I will know you have read my profile and will give more serious consideration. Plan on having a great time of work/play and discovering a boater's world.

    Last note; I realize when you have no references you may consider workaway a cheap way to have a vacation. Remember we are a program design to benefit both parties. Come prepared to take on the task and plan a work/play lifestyle that may actually take over the rest of your life!!!

    WOMEN, PLEASE READ: I am going to add a short note based on one guest's input. I am a man who is older and to some old enough to be your father. I am married, and my wife is younger and adorable (met her in workaway 2014), we have a 3-year-old child, who loves sailing. I am loving, demonstrative, caring and a good friend to many thus the reason for my reviews.
    Sometimes I find women who do not want to ever be touched or hugged, and friendly conversation about life and events makes you feel uncomfortable. I have no ulterior motives when, I am myself, a friendly guy who just happens to think women are wonderful and should be treated with respect. However, if you are a person who is overly sensitive or has had a bad experience with a man then I would ask you to consider another venue where more women are present and you feel more comfortable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    I am a work hard/play hard host anticipate lots of work and play! Read Profile!!

Fully stocked galley but also dockside cooking and grill.
Three Staterooms; simple, but very comfortable mattresses, Good Lighting.
Trampolines for sun and sailing and great nights sleep.
View at Sunrise while sailing.

Host ref number: 851897885188