Come and help a small community of people on our property on the coast in California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    378

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Zoé and I live on a small piece of property (approx. 1.30 acres). I sometimes have roommates, workawayers, friends helping me, etc.

    We have been cleaning up this property and moving toward making it more functional and beautiful. We are opening the doors of our funky old house to those who are wanting to enjoy the cool coastal life. We accept couples and singles. No pets, sorry.

    I, Zoé, was raised as a Buddhist (not necessarily anymore), life long vegetarian and yes, I’m a Californian that has an interest in astrology......big surprise. I bought this property with so much ambition and dreams!! I have been chipping away at them on a dime! I have also learned that these things take time. It’s important to me to have people here that can take direction from a woman, respectful of the space-act as though it was your own, follow to rules of the house -especially when it comes to the animals. We need to keep them safe and us as well.

    Projects:

    Apple season is coming soon! Come fall, we will need help harvesting apples, juicing, making apple butter, canning, pruning trees and more!

    Animals:
    We have ducks! They are here for yummy eggs! We also have two cats and a husky wolf dog. We can’t take anyone with animals.

    There are lighter weight projects and heavy lifting projects.

    Light weight projects and animal care:
    We are in need of some extra hands with the animals especially during summer months.
    We have a few ducks, an elderly dog and two cats. Feeding, watering, walking and generally just hangin out with the animals and giving them love and attention, if we need to be out of town.

    Here a a few of the bigger projects we had in mind for this summer.

    Weeding, mowing and watering is needed during spring and summer months.

    Yard cleanup and beautify. There are still some cleanup projects to do that would entail disassembling, loading up the truck and taking the stuff to the dump.

    Outdoor bathroom. We need an off grid shower built. We also need an outhouse built and connected to septic.

    Fence building. We have a lot of property to cover when it comes to fence building. We still are waiting on funds for materials and we may have what we need to do some small sections at a time.

    Mulching and grading the property. We have a lot of bumpy areas on the property that we would like to flatten out. The back 40 needs stumps removed, French drains, grading, mulch and maybe even gravel.

    Tracy, my husband, is a carpenter and in need of some help with some construction projects. If you have some experience with tools, that’s a bonus for us!

    We need some help with converting a small bus into a usable kitchen for one of the other dwellings on the property.

    We would also like to build a bathhouse for one of our other dwellings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mendocino County is a very magical place. You will feel the good vibes radiating from it. It’s a mellow environment with beautiful sunsets. Reset yourself in this funky, foggy and quaint beach town.
    Skills learned may include: building skills, property management skills and gardening skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the projects assigned, workawayer may work along side one of us here on the property or independently.
    We will discuss what works best with the knowledge and skill level at hand. Projects also depends on what materials are available and needed.

    Basic tidiness and cleanliness is expected. We clean up after ourselves so that the space is ready for the next person to use. Workawayers will also have chores to do in communal areas.

    Cooking is on you. Food is provided and abundant. Sometimes we eat together and sometimes we don’t. Please take care of yourself. If you require certain foods you will have to purchase them. Meat may or may not be provided. Private foods are labeled in the main kitchen. Workawayer will have designated spaces for food storage.

    General kindness and thoughtfulness. This is an old house and old property we are trying to fix and preserve. Please be gentle on our home. We respect each other’s space and privacy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one small bedroom in the house with a full size bed. Great for a couple or single person. It has 1 electrical outlet and we are sparing on how many items are plugged into it. A side table, dresser and lamp are the furnishings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local bus, beach and hikes within walking distance, cute downtown with shopping, cafes and the Botanical gardens is a hop, skip and a jump away from our house!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have WiFi. We pay for higher speed WiFi but because we do live on the coast it can go in and out. Kitchen table it very close to the router and that is the available space we have to work.....right by the coffee pot.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes I have spaces available. Cautions: We only have one restroom and we sometimes have several people living/staying in the house. WiFi doesn’t reach outdoor areas.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days per week

Host ref number: 851521947173