Help a family with their garden and animals in Srednjevo, Serbia




Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    The family Miščević lives in a village called Desine, and Itinerarium Romanum Serbiae. Serbia. My brother, reverend Miloš (born 1971) and his wife Dragana have five children. The oldest son studies history in Belgrade, the second son studies theology at a seminary, the third son goes to agricultural school. The two youngest daughters are going to a primary school. Grandmother Vera (1945) lives on the second floor of the house and is mostly preparing the meals. In the house is also Mr. Dejan (1970) too. He is a single man helping us mostly with the sheep. They all live together in a house near the church. The boys come back mostly on holidays or for weekends. They all take care about the church. It is a Serbian orthodox church. Because they live in a village, there is also a lot of farming. The vegetables and fruits are produced by themselves. They have: chicken, pigs, sheep, cats and dogs. The water comes from the well. Sometimes, depending on the weather conditions, power-failure could happen. Internet is provided. We have a lot of neighbors and they are visiting us very often. My name is Marina (1968) and from time to time I and my husband Gerrit visit them too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our guest is free to make excursions through the region (we will help you and accompany you if wanted). There are a lot of roman archaeological sites; there is the river Danube nearby and a lot of orthodox monasteries. You can learn to make the liquor (if you are in the right season for it), and to cultivate vegetables. If you speak good English you can teach us English here. Regarding the food which is very important to mention, there are a lot of periods of fasting. In this period we do not eat milk, eggs or meat. We will not cook using these ingredients.

  • Help


    We regard our traveller who is visiting us as part of the family. We expect them to help us with day to day chores, for example: to prepare the firewood for winter, in winter to bring firewood into the house, in the spring to look after the garden, and in the summer to water the garden. If you don´t feel like it , you don´t have to do it. You will find your own way to be helpful. You shouldn´t do anything that you don´t like to do or that you don´t want to do. In between we eat together, we drink coffee together, we laugh together and we drive around the region together!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Serbian, Croatian, English, Deutsch, Italiano, 中文

  • Accommodation


    We all live in a big house. Our future guest will get a room in this house or will be the guest in a house nearby, also belonging to the same property. The guest´s room and the use of a bathroom is provided . The accomodation is simple, maybe a little bit disorganised. You can get everything for your private use like bed sheets, blankets, towels, shampoo... even jackets, shoes if we can afford it or if we have it in stock.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our guest can use our internet and drive the car if an international driving licence is available and all legal provisions and personal trust is fulfilled. The area is known for: Viminacium, Lepenski Vir, Fortress Golubac on the Danube and the monastery Tumane. You can visit Belgrade, the capital of Serbia in a day. The available transport is not so good. There are some bus lines but not as often as needed, that is why we all possess cars. A lot of people here work in Italy, Germany and Austria. They come regulary to visit their homes and the elderly and the children who are still living here. The streets are in bad condition. The food is very good and biological. Some of the people are very simple but loud. A lot of the inhabitants are very diligent and hardworking. The lack of the foreign culture- knowledge is notable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week max

Помоз Бог!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 851369162585

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more