Join our family in the land of the midnight sun and Northern lights. Tromsø - Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to the land of the midnight sun and Northern lights!
    Come and live with us in the Arctic!
    We are Denise and Diego, a German-Italian couple that loves Tromsø for its beautiful nature and small community.
    We just got an addition to our little family: baby Dylan.
    Our place is located beautifully on a fjord with sea view and mountains around. It's the perfect place to see Northern lights without light pollution. Tromsø is the biggest town in the north and has lots of cultural activities like concerts, art exhibitions, reindeer races in February, the international film festival in January, the midnight sun marathon in June, trail running competitions in August, skitouring competitions in March, and much more..
    We live in a rural area but only 20-30 minutes away from Tromsø. There's regular busses going into the city throughout the day (except Sundays).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can show how to take pictures of the northern lights.
    Denise can show you how to knit.
    We can speak and teach German, Italian, Norwegian and Japanese. And we can share vegetarian recipes.
    And we can share our stories of traveling and living abroad in many different countries as Iceland, Japan, Netherlands and Norway.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with daily tasks such as cooking, groceries and baby sitting. It's easy work mostly in the mornings so you get time to explore Tromsø.
    Depending on the season, we might need help with gardening, or with cleaning the snow.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Japanese, Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You're staying in your own room in our private home. This means we share kitchen, living room and bathroom.
    In case the guest house is not taken, we can offer you to stay there if you prefer more privacy (depending on availability).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We eat mostly vegetarian food, sometimes fish, but never meat.
    If you are vegan, we can adjust easily.
    But please note that we don't provide meat or sausage.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Let us know if you want to see the Aurora. Then we can help you with lots of tips on what to look out for and how to take pictures! Our home is the perfect spot to see Northern lights from your bedroom window!
This is the view from your room.
This is our little family : Diego, Denise and baby Dylan
This is the beach close by our house. A good spot to have walk and to look out for northern lights.
This is the view from the airplane when arriving to Tromsø!
This is the beautiful view from Tromsøs local mountain, which you can reach in 20 minutes by bus
We love hiking and know lots of trails and can recommend you where to go
This is just in front of our door
Sometimes in summer it is so warm that it can be tempting to go swimming on "our" beach closeby.
Snowy season is best from February to April
Autumn is nice for hiking
The is spring time

Host ref number: 847597834881