Help required to house sit with elderly lady in Dorset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2019

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers :)

    UK 16th May to 26th May 2019

    We live in the beautiful historic fishing town of Lyme Regis on the stunning Jurassic Coast of Dorset, England.

    We are looking for a mature person to assist our 84 year old mother (Hilary) while we are away from the 16th May to the 26th May 2019.

    The main requirement of the Workaway person would be to cook dinner for you both, (for around 7pm each evening), provide a very light Breakfast in the morning, do some light cleaning duties (i.e. clean and tidy up after yourselves) and feed the two cats - you must like cats! :) Essentially it is dinner and breakfast duties, with a little bit of companionship thrown in :)
    The work amounts to about 2-3 hours a day in total. The rest of the time you would be free to explore this beautiful part of England.

    My mother's house is located in the heart of this historic attractive town. In the small long garden we have a private deck over the cliff taking in the sweeping views of the sea just 30 metres below. It's exciting in a storm and fabulous in the sun - if you are a smoker, smoking is allowed out on the deck, it is discouraged in the house.

    We are offering the Workawayer - food, (dinner and breakfast), a double bedroom, your own private sitting room with TV/ Netflix and a private bathroom with shower (in an old house, but it has all the necessary amenities).
    Please Google Lyme Regis to get an idea of the place you would be coming to.

    Ideally we are looking for a lady guest but it's not essential, a couple would be fine to.

    Please feel free to get in touch and ask any questions you may have.

    Best Luck,

    Guy

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a Classical Guitarist I teach music, am a dilettante painter. Mother is a writer with a great deal to offer, and although she travels less these days being somewhat disabled, we've both certainly traveled widely and lived in the US for twenty years plus, among other places.

  • Help

    Help

    I think I outlined expectations above, but we are sociable and conversation and cultural exchange is a bonus. An enthusiasm and flair for food and cooking is a real bonus and to be encouraged when cooking the evening meal.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom, private sitting room, occasionally shared bathroom all on own floor. Great deck overlooking the sea for sun, storms and additional privacy, and smoking should you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lyme Regis is an example of England past and present. Definitely a place to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A few hours a day, including weekends, very light duties. (Maximum 25 hours/week)



Host ref number: 846798936683

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host