Join us in Mallín Grande, Patagonia and help us on the land and around the house & garden, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Workaway Note: Please contact this host in Spanish by telephone, but you can do it in english by email.

    We are an old, married couple. I am 81 years old and my wife 79, she is call Enolfa. We have two daughters and four grandchildren but they do not live with us. We live in a field 1 km from the town of Mallin Grande, very close to Lake General Carrera in Chilean Patagonia.

    Our field has 500 hectares where we have cows and sheep and forests where we get firewood. Near the house we have fruit trees, greenhouse where everything is given, an orchard, hens, dogs that care for animals and cats. We also have a garden with flowers and trees.
    Our field is below a mountain range with the births of rivers and snowy places, where you can go for a walk.
    We have natural water that comes directly from the mountain range.
    I dedicate myself to chopping wood, watering, caring for animals, etc. And to do the other labors of the field.

    We don´t speek english, but we do have friends who helps in reading and answering you emails in english.

    Somos un matrimonio mayor de edad, de adultos mayores. Yo tengo 81 años y mi señora 79. Tenemos dos hijas y cuatro nietos pero no viven con nosotros. Vivimos en un campo a 1 km del pueblo de Mallín Grande, muy cerca del lago General Carrera en la Patagonia chilena.
    Nuestro campo tiene 500 hectáreas donde tenemos vacas y ovejas y bosques de donde sacamos leña. Cerca de la casa tenemos árboles frutales, invernadero donde se da de todo, una huerta, gallinas, perros que cuidan a los animales y gatos. Tenemos también un jardín con flores y árboles.
    Nuestro campo está abajo de una cordillera con los nacimientos de los ríos y lugares nevados, donde se puede ir a pasear.
    Tenemos agua natural que viene directo de la cordillera.
    Yo me dedico a picar leña, a regar, cuidar los animales, etc. y a hacer las demás labores del campo. Mi señora cuida de la casa, de los animales y cultivos que tenemos ahí.

    No hablamos inglés pero tenemos ayuda para leer y contestar sus mensajes en inglés.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn work in the countryside, with its rhythm, way of life, in a farm that function in a prety old fashion way for our todays standards.
    Share with a family that has worked 50 years in their own field. We have live the story of the first people who arrive to this area.
    To know the Chilean Patagonia, its culture, geography, nature.
    Learn from the harvest of the pasture, the breeding of animals, the care of plants.
    Know the history of this region, how it has been forming, the experience of its first settlers.

    Aprender el trabajo, vida y ritmos del campo que funciona de una manera más antigua.
    Compartir con una familia que ha trabajado 50 años en su propio campo. Somos parte de la historia de los primeros colonos.
    Conocer de la historia de esta región, cómo se ha ido formando, cómo ha sido la experiencia de sus primeros pobladores.
    Vivir en un ambiente familiar y amistoso, donde puedas desconectarte para conocer una cultura única, ligada a la tierra, de una sabiduría campesina y humana muy fuerte.

  • Help

    Help

    Help to clean branches at fields near my house, help in fixing old fences, to chop and to bring firewood, two harvest grass at fields for the catle. Also help with the housework, such as making bread, washing, taking care of the garden, watering it.

    Ayuda para limpiar de ramas los potreros cercanos a mi casa, a arreglar cercos viejos, picar y traer leña, también ayuda en la cosecha de pasto para el ganado. También ayudar en los trabajos de la casa, como hacer pan, lavar, cuidar de la huerta, regarla.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    solo español

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room for two people in our house. They can stay outdoors if they prefer. In either case you will be very welcome

    Tenemos una habitación para dos personas en nuestra misma casa. Pueden alojar en carpa afuera si lo prefieren. EN cualquier alternativa será muy bien recibidos.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mallín Grande is 80 km from Chile Chico. In this sector besides the lake there are mountains with glaciers, there are many different alternatives of activities that can be done not far from where we are such as visits to national parks, glacier and glacier walks, horseback riding, fishing and more. We live in a rural sector, our neighbors are also peasants.
    We leave little of our house, we live a quiet life, working and sometimes we receive visits of friends and relatives.

    Mallín Grande está a 80 km de Chile Chico. En este sector además del lago hay montañas con ventisqueros, existen muchas alternativas diferentes de actividades que se pueden realizar no lejos de donde estamos como visitas a parques nacionales, caminatas a los glaciares y ventisqueros, cabalgatas, pesca y otras más. Vivimos en un sector rural, nuestros vecinos también son campesinos.
    Nosotros salimos poco de nuestra casa, vivimos una vida tranquila, trabajando y a veces recibimos visitas de amigos y familiares.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 839528335887