Turning a beautiful Children's hospital into an even more beautiful ecovillage in Germany



Favourited 88 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a group of 10 people starting a intentional community / ecovillage and seminar- /skillsharing centre in a former child hospital. Its located in the middle of the forest near Harzgerode, a small town in the middle of Germany. The next big City is Quedlinburg, 20km north.

    The buildings were quite unoccupied for the last 20 years but are in good condition. Currently we are setting up new and fixing old or broken infrastructure, reactivate the Farmhouse with its two greenhouses for own vegetables and preparing the huge property to host a festival in summer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are living a sharing culture, where a lot of space and things are shared. But there is also a lot of space, if there is a need for more privacy. You can meet people who live very alternative lifeslyles (living moneyless, hitchhiking, dumpsterdiving, workawaying). You can also learn about alternative energy systems, claywork, sustainable living and living in a community.

  • Help


    We are looking for help

    Several projects are planned, where you can help:
    - building outdoor solar-shower
    - building compost toilets
    - preperation of seminar rooms
    - set up big outdoor/partly indoor kitchen for 150 people
    - setting up benjes hedges/dead hedges
    - building solar cooker

    Daily tasks:
    - cooking
    - cleaning
    - keeping the place tidy
    - watering plants, caring for garden
    - administrative help
    - join us on a foodsaving or dumpsterdiving trip

    Also there is always a lot to do around the house:
    - caring for Paula the cat or Osito the dog
    - fight back nature ;) (as there are many trees etc. eating walls and buildings)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation


    As we have a lot of shared spaces, there are many possibilities. You can sleep in a big sleeping room, shared sleeping rooms, or also in a private room. There is also a lot of space for tents, hammocks, etc.
    We have enough blankets/sleeping bags, matresses, tents and room ;)
    We are sharing our food, which is mainly dumpsterdived from local containers or saved directly from cooperating supermarkets. Most of us prefer to eat vegan/vegetarian food, but there are also some of us, who eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Currently it is a quite self-organised place in the middle of nature.
    We expect self-responsibility and hope for your thirst for action.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 831333237576